5 – Les droits ne sont pas garantis
L’indice CSI des droits dans le monde

Bahreïn

L’organisation organisation Processus consistant à former ou à s’affilier à un syndicat ou à inciter d’autres travailleurs à former ou à s’affilier à un syndicat. affiliée à la CSI au Bahreïn est la General Federation of Bahrain Trade Unions (Fédération générale des syndicats du Bahreïn – GFBTU).

En pratique

Classer par:

Licenciement de dirigeants syndicaux dans de grandes entreprises16-02-2018

La General Federation of Bahrain Trade Unions (Fédération générale des syndicats du Bahreïn – GFBTU) déclare que les secrétaires et assistants de l’entreprise Bahrain Public Transport Company et de Carrefour ont été licenciés en raison de leurs activités syndicales.

De grandes entreprises refusent de négocier avec les syndicats16-02-2018

La General Federation of Bahrain Trade Unions (Fédération générale des syndicats du Bahreïn – GFBTU) indique que plusieurs grandes entreprises du Bahreïn ont refusé d’engager des négociations avec les syndicats, en dépit des mécanismes de négociation collective négociation collective Processus de négociation de conditions de travail acceptables pour les deux parties et de réglementation des relations sociales entre un ou plusieurs représentants des travailleurs, des syndicats ou des centrales syndicales d’un côté et un employeur, un groupe d’employeurs ou une ou plusieurs organisations patronales de l’autre.

Voir convention collective
existant dans chacune de ces entreprises, notamment Aluminium Bahrain B.S.C. (Alba), Arab Shipbuilding and Repair Yard, Batelco, Bahrain Petroleum Company (Bapco), Gulf Air, Gulf Aluminium Rolling Mill (Garmco), DHL et Bahrain Airport Services. Garmco a même commencé à négocier directement avec les travailleurs au lieu de passer par les représentants syndicaux.

Aluminium Bahrain empêche le prélèvement des cotisations syndicales 16-02-2018

La direction de l’entreprise Aluminium Bahrain B.S.C. (Alba) refuse constamment d’autoriser le prélèvement direct des cotisations syndicales sur le salaire des employé(e)s depuis la création du syndicat d’entreprise syndicat d’entreprise Syndicat réservé aux employés d’une seule entreprise. Parfois appelé syndicat maison, il ne doit pas être confondu avec un syndicat jaune. en 2013.

Mesures de rétorsion contre des travailleurs souhaitant s’affilier à la GFBTU16-02-2018

La General Federation of Bahrain Trade Unions (Fédération générale des syndicats du Bahreïn – GFBTU) fait savoir que le producteur d’aluminium Gulf Aluminium Rolling Mill (Garmco) et DHL menacent de prendre des mesures de rétorsion contre les travailleurs/euses qui adhéreraient à la GFBTU. Garmco a même suspendu les prestations de dix employés en raison de leur appartenance à la GFBTU.

Favoritisme syndical16-02-2018

La General Federation of Bahrain Trade Unions (Fédération générale des syndicats du Bahreïn – GFBTU) signale que la Chambre de commerce et d’industrie du Bahreïn a rejeté l’instauration d’un syndicat soutenu par la GFBTU mais qu’elle a accepté la création d’un autre syndicat, soutenu par la Bahrain Labour Union Free Federation (Fédération libre des syndicats du Bahreïn – BLUFF).

Licenciement de syndicalistes qui demandaient le versement des salaires impayés03-10-2017

Le 3 octobre 2017, une entreprise a licencié tous les représentant(e)s syndicaux ainsi que 35 travailleurs/euses du Bahreïn suite à une plainte déposée au ministère du Travail au sujet de sept mois d’arriérés de salaires. Face à la pression du ministère du Travail, l’entreprise a versé cinq mois de salaires impayés à 40 employés, mais elle en a licencié 35 autres, en plus de tous les représentants syndicaux. Un représentant de la General Federation of Bahrain Trade Unions (Fédération générale des syndicats du Bahreïn – GFBTU) a déclaré que l’entreprise avait payé les salaires qu’elle devait seulement après la décision du tribunal d’interdire au président directeur général de l’entreprise de se déplacer, ce qui a donné lieu à une réunion en présence des représentants du ministère. Bien qu’un accord partiel ait été conclu, l’entreprise a arbitrairement licencié les syndicalistes et refusé de considérer le ministère du Travail comme un acteur de l’accord et de payer les arriérés de salaire restants.

Une délégation syndicale soumise à l’interdiction de participer à la Conférence internationale du travail CIT)26-11-2017

Le 3 juin 2017, les autorités de l’aéroport international du Bahreïn ont interdit à une délégation de la General Federation of Bahrain Trade Unions (Fédération générale des syndicats du Bahreïn – GFBTU) de se rendre à Genève pour participer aux travaux de la 106e session de la Conférence internationale du travail. Bien que la GFBTU ait communiqué le nom de ses délégués au ministère du Travail, conformément à la procédure habituelle, les autorités ont refusé l’accès à l’embarquement de la délégation sans préciser ce qui avait motivé cette décision arbitraire. Ensuite, le 6 novembre et le 26 novembre 2017, le secrétaire général adjoint de la GFBTU s’est vu interdire le déplacement à une réunion syndicale internationale qui avait lieu à Muscat, Oman, et à la Conférence de l’Internationale des travailleurs du bâtiment et du bois (IBB) en Afrique du Sud. Les autorités n’ont fourni aucune explication. Le gouvernement a également refusé d’accorder des visas d’entrée aux spécialistes de l’OIT Organisation internationale du travail Structure tripartite créée par les Nations Unies (ONU) en 1919 pour promouvoir de bonnes conditions de vie et de travail. Principale instance internationale chargée de développer et de contrôler les normes internationales du travail.

Voir tripartisme, Guide des droits syndicaux internationaux de la CSI
et aux représentant(e)s de syndicats étrangers, ce qui les a empêchés de prendre part aux activités de la GFBTU.

Attaque d’un représentant syndical et de son fils09-05-2017

Le 9 mai 2017, l’ancien secrétaire général de la General Federation of Bahrain Trade Unions (Fédération générale des syndicats du Bahreïn – GFBTU), Salman Al-Mahfouz, et son fils ont fait l’objet d’une attaque. Un inconnu a brisé la vitre arrière de la voiture de M. Al-Mahfouz, qui était garée devant son domicile, dans le quartier Sar, et la voiture de son fils, M. Louai, a été incendiée. La police enquête toujours, mais les auteurs de ces agissements demeurent inconnus.

Interdiction de défiler le 1er mai01-05-2017

Suite à une décision du ministère de l’Intérieur, le défilé du 1er mai 2017 a été interdit. Hassan Halwachi, le secrétaire général de la General Federation of Bahrain Trade Unions (Fédération générale des syndicats du Bahreïn – GFBTU), a déclaré dans la presse qu’il regrettait profondément cette interdiction de l’exercice de la liberté de réunion. Il a précisé, alors que la GFBTU ne contestait pas la décision, qu’il était « important de dire que le fait d’empêcher les travailleurs d’organiser le défilé avait un impact négatif non seulement sur le syndicat et sur le mouvement syndical, mais aussi sur l’économie du pays ».

Des militants syndicaux emprisonnés et arrêtés17-04-2017

Depuis avril 2017, Mahdi Abu Dheeb et Jalila al Salman, respectivement président et vice-présidente du syndicat d’enseignants Bahrain Teachers’ Association (BTA), sont assignés à résidence et leurs déplacements sont limités, ce qui les empêche de diriger le BTA et d’assister aux conférences internationales. Mahdi a été libéré de prison en 2016, où il avait été incarcéré en 2011 pour avoir simplement demandé des réformes du système d’enseignement du pays. En prison, il a subi des violences physiques répétées et des actes de torture. Jalila a également été détenue et torturée par les autorités. Le syndicat britannique de l’enseignement NASUWT a décerné à Mahdi le Prix de la solidarité internationale 2017 et, le 15 avril 2017 à Manchester, il a assisté à la conférence annuelle du NASUWT en compagnie de Jalila. Lorsqu’ils sont rentrés au Bahreïn, ils ont été informés des restrictions arbitraires relatives à leur liberté de mouvement. Avec ces restrictions injustifiables, il leur est très difficile de mener à bien leurs activités pour le BTA, qui est une organisation organisation Processus consistant à former ou à s’affilier à un syndicat ou à inciter d’autres travailleurs à former ou à s’affilier à un syndicat. internationalement reconnue et respectée.

Un travailleur indien mort au cours d’une manifestation au Bahreïn15-01-2017

Le 15 janvier 2017, une importante manifestation à Manama a mobilisé plus de 200 ouvriers indiens qui réclamaient le paiement de leurs arriérés salariaux. La police a lancé un assaut brutal contre les protestataires à l’issue duquel un travailleur a été tué et un nombre indéterminé de personnes ont été blessées. Suite à cet incident, le Bahreïn et l’Inde ont eu des consultations urgentes pour tenter de désamorcer la situation. Les ministres bahreïnis refusent de reconnaître que la mort du manifestant était causée par le raid policier, affirmant à la place que le ressortissant indien était décédé de causes naturelles. Cet effroyable incident est venu rallonger la longue liste de violations des droits humains et des travailleurs dans le pays du Golfe, causant un trouble prolongé parmi les travailleurs indiens. Qui plus est, il est survenu à un moment particulièrement délicat : Une semaine après le festival Pravasi Bharatiya Divas, célébré en l’honneur de la diaspora indienne, en présence d’un groupe très nombreux de ressortissants indiens de la région du Golfe.

Licenciement du responsable du syndicat des dockers11-11-2015

Khalil Ibrahim Fardan, président du syndicat des dockers General Union of Port Workers in Bahrain (GUPWB), a été licencié le 11 novembre par APM Terminals, à Bahreïn. L’entreprise a affirmé que ce licenciement était dû aux « pratiques de travail » mais M. Fardan avait déjà été pris pour cible par l’entreprise en raison de ses activités syndicales, et la fédération syndicale nationale General Federation of Bahrain Trade Unions (GFBTU) pensait que son licenciement visait à l’empêcher de jouer son rôle de dirigeant syndical. La Fédération internationale des ouvriers du transport (ITF) a rencontré la direction de l’entreprise une semaine plus tard pour essayer d’inverser la décision de la direction de l’entreprise, en vain.

La répression continue contre un syndicat d’enseignants04-04-2016

Jalila al-Salman, vice-présidente du syndicat d’enseignant(e)s Bahrain Teachers’ Association (BTA), signale que les enseignants ne peuvent plus organiser d’activités syndicales comme ils en avaient l’habitude, depuis les mesures de répression prises à l’encontre du syndicat en 2011. Jalila al-Salman et Mahdi Abu Dheeb, le président du BTA, ont tous deux été emprisonnés en 2011 pour avoir organisé des grèves d’enseignants et ont subi des tortures et des humiliations en prison. Jalila a été libérée au bout de six mois mais il lui est interdit d’enseigner et sa liberté d’expression est extrêmement limitée. Elle a toutefois été autorisée à se rendre en Norvège en juin 2015 afin de recevoir le prix international Arthur Svensson pour les droits syndicaux, qui est décerné chaque année par le syndicat norvégien Industri Energi. Mahdi Abu Dheeb, condamné à cinq ans de prison, n’a pas pu l’accompagner, étant toujours incarcéré à ce moment-là. Il a été libéré le 4 avril 2016, mais il souffre de problèmes de santé depuis son emprisonnement. Entre-temps, la situation des enseignants ne s’est pas améliorée, et ils risquent d’être sanctionnés s’ils essaient simplement de participer à des négociations collectives, explique Jalila. Les enseignants peuvent être mutés de leur lieu de travail au seul motif qu’ils appartiennent au BTA ou si les autorités soupçonnent le syndicat de les aider.

Interdiction d’organiser des manifestations pour le 1er mai30-04-2015

Le 30 avril 2015, le gouvernement a interdit tous les rassemblements du 1er mai, obligeant la fédération syndicale nationale General Federation of Bahrain Trade Unions (GFBTU) à annuler à la dernière minute les manifestations prévues pour la Fête du travail, notamment un rassemblement, des camps médicaux, des sorties familiales et des cérémonies de remises de prix axées sur les droits des femmes et des travailleurs migrants sur le lieu de travail. Des milliers de personnes étaient attendues au rassemblement, notamment les membres de plus de 45 syndicats affiliés à la GFBTU.

Des travailleurs migrants menacés d’expulsion09-02-2015

En juin 2014, près de 2000 travailleurs/euses de l’usine de prêt-à-porter de Riffa, qui fabrique des vêtements pour des marques comme Macy’s, C&A, GAP, JC Penney et Walmart, se sont mis en grève grève Forme d’action collective la plus répandue, la grève désigne un arrêt de travail concerté sur une période limitée et peut revêtir de nombreuses formes.

Voir grève générale, grève intermittente, grève tournante, grève d’occupation, grève de solidarité, grève sauvage
pour protester contre les salaires trop bas et impayés, et les mauvaises conditions de travail. Les travailleurs, essentiellement originaires de l’Inde et du Bangladesh, se sont réunis à l’usine de Hajiyat et ont remis une liste de 12 demandes pour obtenir une hausse des salaires, l’amélioration de la nourriture et des soins médicaux. Actuellement, les travailleurs gagnent environ 55 BHD (145 USD) par mois. Le ministère du Travail a publié une déclaration pour annoncer que la grève grève Forme d’action collective la plus répandue, la grève désigne un arrêt de travail concerté sur une période limitée et peut revêtir de nombreuses formes.

Voir grève générale, grève intermittente, grève tournante, grève d’occupation, grève de solidarité, grève sauvage
était illégale et qu’une action en justice, impliquant l’expulsion, serait intentée contre les travailleurs qui refusaient de reprendre le travail.

Des travailleurs/euses non réintégrés12-08-2013

Bien que le comité tripartite ait réussi à faire réintégrer un nombre significatif des travailleurs/euses licenciés après leur participation aux manifestations pour la démocratie, d’après le GFBTU, 657 travailleurs/euses n’ont toujours pas été réintégrés depuis les événements de 2011, y compris des dirigeant(e)s syndicaux. Par ailleurs, parmi les travailleurs/euses réintégrés, certains ont été réembauchés à des conditions moins favorables, avec un statut professionnel inférieur et un salaire moins important qu’avant leur licenciement.

Emprisonnement de dirigeant(e)s syndicaux 25-11-2012

Le 21 octobre 2011, la Cour d’appel a confirmé le verdict de culpabilité prononcé contre les dirigeant(e)s de la Bahrain Teachers Association (Association des enseignant(e)s du Bahreïn – BTA) le 25 septembre 2011 parce qu’ils/elles auraient tenté de renverser par la force le système au pouvoir et incité à la haine à l’égard du régime. La peine d’emprisonnement de Mahdi Abu Dheeb a été réduite à cinq ans et celle de Jalila al-Salman à six mois. Les avocats des dirigeant(e)s du BTA ont formé opposition auprès de la Cour suprême au sujet de ce verdict.

Le 7 novembre 2012, Jalila al-Salman, qui avait été libérée sous caution, a été convoquée sans explication au Service des enquêtes, à Manama, pour effectuer les 6 mois d’emprisonnement qui lui restaient. Elle a été transférée à la prison pour femmes d’Isa Town. Son avocat et sa famille n’ont pas été autorisés à l’accompagner ni à la contacter. Jalila al-Salman a été libérée le 25 novembre au terme de sa peine d’emprisonnement. Mahdi Abu Dheeb purge sa peine de cinq ans d’incarcération. Une procédure d’appel final est toujours en instance.

Selon des informations sérieuses, Mahdi Abu Dheeb et Jalila al-Salman ont tous deux été torturés pendant leur détention. Mahdi Abu Dheeb souffre par ailleurs de diabète et d’hypertension artérielle et il a des problèmes de cœur et d’estomac.

Actes d’ingérence du gouvernement12-08-2013

Le gouvernement a créé la Bahrain Labor Union Free Federation (Fédération libre des syndicats du Bahreïn) dans le but d’affaiblir la GFBTU.

Violation des droits essentiels et discrimination antisyndicale12-08-2013

Les travailleurs/euses qui ont participé aux manifestations au « rond-point de la Perle » ont été systématiquement licenciés par leurs employeurs. La General Federation of Bahrain Trade Unions (Fédération générale des syndicats du Bahreïn – GFBTU) a déclaré que certains employeurs refusaient de réintégrer ces travailleurs/euses aux termes de leur ancien contrat et qu’ils les obligeaient à signer de nouveaux contrats.

La GFBTU ne reçoit plus aucun soutien financier public, alors que la Chambre de commerce et l’Association des employeurs du Bahreïn continuent d’obtenir des financements. Au total, 55 dirigeant(e)s syndicaux du GFBTU ont été licenciés.

Le 1er mai 2012 à Manama, lors de la Journée mondiale du travail, la police antiémeute a lancé des gaz lacrymogènes et des grenades incapacitantes à des manifestant(e)s qui demandaient la libération des leaders du soulèvement de 2011, toujours emprisonnés.

Mahdi Issa Abu Dheeb et Jalila Al-Salman, de la Bahraini Teachers Association (Association des enseignant(e)s du Bahreïn – BTA), ont été arrêtés en 2011 pour avoir participé à des manifestations en faveur de la démocratie. Ils sont toujours détenus.

Départ forcé d’ouvriers migrants du secteur de la construction01-07-2010

Début juillet, plusieurs centaines d’ouvriers de la construction ont participé à une grève grève Forme d’action collective la plus répandue, la grève désigne un arrêt de travail concerté sur une période limitée et peut revêtir de nombreuses formes.

Voir grève générale, grève intermittente, grève tournante, grève d’occupation, grève de solidarité, grève sauvage
de deux jours pour protester contre des salaires insuffisants et des conditions de travail précaires. La grève grève Forme d’action collective la plus répandue, la grève désigne un arrêt de travail concerté sur une période limitée et peut revêtir de nombreuses formes.

Voir grève générale, grève intermittente, grève tournante, grève d’occupation, grève de solidarité, grève sauvage
aurait été suspendue quand les organisateurs ont accepté de quitter le Bahreïn et de rentrer dans leur pays. D’après le directeur de l’entreprise, les 10 hommes qui avaient « incité les travailleurs » à se mettre en grève grève Forme d’action collective la plus répandue, la grève désigne un arrêt de travail concerté sur une période limitée et peut revêtir de nombreuses formes.

Voir grève générale, grève intermittente, grève tournante, grève d’occupation, grève de solidarité, grève sauvage
auraient accepté de rentrer dans leur pays de leur plein gré. Il a aussi assuré que les griefs concernant les conditions de travail, les salaires et les heures supplémentaires seraient examinés. Toutefois, d’après la Bahrain Human Rights Watch Society, les hommes craignaient d’être traités en boucs émissaires et persécutés s’ils restaient et n’avaient dès lors pas énormément de choix autre que d’accepter le rapatriement, malgré leur droit d’objection.

© ITUC-CSI-IGB 2013 | www.ituc-csi.org | Contact Design by Pixeleyes.be - maps: jVectorMap

5 – No guarantee of rights
The ITUC Global Rights Index

Bahrain

The ITUC affiliate in Bahrain is the General Federation of Bahrain Trade Unions (GFBTU).

In practice

Browse by:

Dismissal of union leaders in major companies16-02-2018

The General Federation of Bahrain Trade Unions (GFBTU) reports that the secretaries and deputies of the PublicTransport Compnay and Carrefour were fired for their trade union activities.

Major companies refuse to negotiate with unions16-02-2018

The General Federation of Bahrain Trade Unions (GFBTU) reports that a number of major companies in Bahrain have refused to initiate negotiations with unions, despite the existence of collective bargaining collective bargaining The process of negotiating mutually acceptable terms and conditions of employment as well as regulating industrial relations between one or more workers’ representatives, trade unions, or trade union centres on the one hand and an employer, a group of employers or one or more employers’ organisations on the other.

See collective bargaining agreement
mechanisms set up in each company, including Aluminium Bahrain B.S.C. (Alba), the Arab Shipbuilding and Repair Yard, Batelco, the Bahrain Petroleum Company (Bapco), Gulf Air, Gulf Aluminium Rolling Mill (Garmco), DHL and the Bahrain Airport Services. Garmco even started negotiating directly with workers instead of union representatives.

Collection of union dues blocked by Aluminium Bahrain 16-02-2018

The management of Aluminium Bahrain B.S.C. (Alba) has persistently refused to allow the direct collection of union dues from workers’ salaries since the formation of the company-level union in 2013.

Retaliatory measures against workers joining the GFBTU 16-02-2018

The General Federation of Bahrain Trade Unions (GFBTU) reports that the Gulf Aluminium Rolling Mill (Garmco) and DHL have threatened workers who joined the GFBTU with retaliatory measures. Garmco even suspended benefits for ten workers because of their GFBTU membership.

Union favouritism16-02-2018

The General Federation of Bahrain Trade Unions (GFBTU) reports that the Bahrain Chamber of Commerce and Industry (BCCI) rejected the establishment of a union supported by the GFBTU but accepted the creation of another which was promoted by the Bahrain Labour Union Free Federation (BLUFF).

Trade unionists dismissed over wage arrear claims03-10-2017

On 3 October 2017 a company dismissed all trade union representatives along with 35 other Bahraini workers following a complaint lodged before the Minister of Labour concerning the payment of seven months wage arrears. Following pressure by the Ministry of Labour, the company paid five months arrears to 40 Bahraini workers, while dismissing 35 Bahraini workers and all trade union representatives. A representative of the General Federation of Bahrain Trade Unions (GFBTU) indicated that the company had paid the outstanding wages only after a court ruled to ban the CEO of the company from travelling. This led to a meeting in the presence of the Ministry representatives. Although a partial agreement was reached, the company arbitrarily dismissed trade unionists and refused to consider the Ministry of Labour as a sponsor of the agreement and to pay the outstanding wage arrears.

Trade unions’ delegation banned from participating in the International Labour Conference (ILC)26-11-2017

On 3 June 2017 the authorities at the Bahrain International Airport prevented a delegation from the General Federation of Bahrain Trade Unions (GFBTU) from traveling to Geneva to participate in the work of 106th session of International Labour Conference. Although GFBTU had communicated the names of its delegates to the Ministry of Labour in line with the customary procedure, the authorities refused access to boarding but did not give any reason behind this arbitrary decision. Subsequently, on 6 November and 26 November 2017, the GFBTU Deputy Secretary-General was banned from traveling to an international trade union meeting in Muscat, Oman, and to the Building and Wood Worker’s International (BWI) Conference in South Africa. No justification was given by the authorities. The government also denied entry visas to ILO International Labour Organization A tripartite United Nations (UN) agency established in 1919 to promote working and living conditions. The main international body charged with developing and overseeing international labour standards.

See tripartism, ITUC Guide to international trade union rights
specialists and representatives of foreign trade unions, effectively preventing them from participating in GFBTU activities.

Trade union representative and his son attacked09-05-2017

On 9 May 2017 former Secretary-General of the General Federation of Bahrain Trade Unions (GFBTU), Mr Salman Al-Mahfouz, and his son were attacked. The rear window of Mr Al-Mahfouz’s car was smashed by an unknown individual while it was parked in front of his house in Sar area, while the car of his son, Mr Louai, was burned. The police are investigating but the perpetrators remain unknown.

1st May march banned01-05-2017

Following a decision issued by the Ministry of Interior, the 2017 May Day procession was banned. In a press statement, the Secretary General of the General Federation of Bahrain Trade Unions (GFBTU), Hassan Halwachi, deeply regretted this ban on freedom of assembly. He noted that while the GFBTU abided by the decision, “it [was] important to say that depriving workers of organizing the march [had] a negative impact not only on the trade union and labour movement but also on the economy of the country.”

Trade unions activists locked up and arrested17-04-2017

Since April 2017, Mahdi Abu Dheeb and Jalila al Salman, respectively President and Vice-President of the Bahrain Teachers’ Association (BTA), have been subject to house arrest and travel restrictions, effectively preventing them from heading the BTA and attending international conferences. Mahdi was released from prison in 2016 after being locked up in 2011 simply for demanding reforms to the Bahraini education system. In prison, he was subjected to repeated physical abuse and torture. Jalila was also detained and tortured by the authorities. Mahdi received the NASUWT’s International Solidarity Award 2017 and along with Jalila, he attended the NASUWT Annual Conference on 15 April 2017 in Manchester (UK). Upon their return to Bahrain, they were informed of the arbitrary restrictions to their freedom of movement. These unjustifiable restrictions prevent them from carrying out their activities for the BTA, which is an internationally recognised and respected organisation.

Indian worker dies in Bahrain during protest15-01-2017

On 15 January 2017, approximately 200 migrant workers staged a protest demanding the payment of wage arrears. Protesting workers were violently beaten by police officers, causing an unknown number of injured and one dead. Following the incident, Bahrain and India held urgent consultations to defuse the situation. However, Bahrain Ministers refused to acknowledge that the death was caused by police intervention in the protest, stating that the Indian national died of natural causes. This horrible incident was one in a long line of violations of human and labour rights in the Gulf country, which caused prolonged unrest among Indian workers. Furthermore, it occurred at a particularly delicate time, one week after the celebration in India of the Pravasi Bharatiya Divas festival, which honours Indians living abroad.

Ports union leader dismissed11-11-2015

Khalil Ibrahim Fardan, president of the General Union of Port Workers in Bahrain (GUPWB), was dismissed on 11 November by APM Terminals, Bahrain. The company claimed his dismissal was due to “work practices” but Mr. Fardan had been previous targeted by the company due to his trade union work, and the General Federation of Bahrain Trade Unions (GFBTU) believed that his dismissal was aimed at preventing him performing his role as a union leader. The International Federation of Transport Workers (ITF) met with the company’s management a week later to try to overturn the decision, but to no avail.

Teachers’ union still facing repression04-04-2016

Jalila al-Salman, vice-president of the Bahrain Teachers’ Association (BTA), warns that teachers can no longer carry out union activities as they used to ever since a crackdown on the union in 2011. She and Mahdi Abu Dheeb, president of the BTA, were both imprisoned in 2011 for organising organising The process of forming or joining a trade union, or inducing other workers to form or join one. strikes by teachers, and were tortured and humiliated in prison. Jalila was released after six months but is banned from working as teacher and her freedom of speech is heavily curtailed. She was however allowed to travel to Norway in June 2015 to receive the Arthur Svensson International Prize for Trade Union Rights, awarded annually by Industri Energi, a Norwegian trade union. Mahdi Abu Dheeb, who had been sentenced to five years, was unable to join her because he was still in prison at the time. He was finally released on 4 April 2016, but his health has suffered as a consequence. In the meantime, the situation has not improved for teachers who face punishment simply for trying to enter into collective bargaining collective bargaining The process of negotiating mutually acceptable terms and conditions of employment as well as regulating industrial relations between one or more workers’ representatives, trade unions, or trade union centres on the one hand and an employer, a group of employers or one or more employers’ organisations on the other.

See collective bargaining agreement
according to Jalila. Teachers can be transferred from their workplace simply for belonging to the BTA or if the authorities suspect that the union might help them.

May Day celebrations banned30-04-2015

On 30 April 2015 the government banned all May Day rallies, forcing the General Federation of Bahrain Trade Unions (GFBTU) to abruptly cancel its weekend celebrations. The federation had planned a rally, medical camps, family outings and award ceremonies focusing on the rights of women and migrant workers in the workplace. Thousands were expected to attend the rally, including members of more than 45 GFBTU-affiliated trade unions.

Migrant workers threatened with deportation09-02-2015

In June 2014, about 2,000 workers employed at the garment factory Riffa, which produces clothing for brands such as Macy’s, C&A, GAP, JC Penney and Walmart, went on strike strike The most common form of industrial action, a strike is a concerted stoppage of work by employees for a limited period of time. Can assume a wide variety of forms.

See general strike, intermittent strike, rotating strike, sit-down strike, sympathy strike, wildcat strike
against low and unpaid wages as well as poor working conditions. Workers, mostly from India and Bangladesh, gathered at the company’s factory in Hajiyat and submitted 12 demands calling for better pay, food and medical care. Currently, workers earn about BD55 (US$ 145) a month. The Labour Ministry issued a statement declaring the strike strike The most common form of industrial action, a strike is a concerted stoppage of work by employees for a limited period of time. Can assume a wide variety of forms.

See general strike, intermittent strike, rotating strike, sit-down strike, sympathy strike, wildcat strike
illegal and announced that legal action, including deportation, would be undertaken against workers who refused to return to work.

Workers have not been reinstated12-08-2013

While the tripartite committee was able to reinstate a significant number of all dismissed workers who participated in pro-democracy demonstrations, according to the GFBTU, as many as 657 workers have still not been reinstated since the 2011 events, including trade union leaders. Furthermore, among those reinstated, some were rehired with inferior conditions and job statuses and on lower pay to those jobs they held prior to their dismissal.

Union leaders in jail25-11-2012

On 21 October 2011, the Court of Appeal upheld the guilty verdict issued against the BTA leaders on 25 September 2011 for allegedly attempting to overthrow the ruling system by force and inciting hatred of the regime. The prison sentences were reduced to five years for Mahdi Abu Dheeb and six months for Jalila al-Salman. The lawyers of the BTA leaders filed an objection to the Supreme Court regarding the verdict.

On 7 November 2012, Jalila al-Salman, who had been released on bail, was summoned without explanation to the Investigation Department in Manama to serve the remaining time of her 6-month prison term. She was transferred to the Isa Town Women’s Prison. Her lawyer and family were not allowed to accompany or contact her. Jalila al-Salman was finally released from prison on 25 November after serving her prison term. Mahdi Abu Dheeb is still serving a 5-year prison term. A final appeal is still pending.

Reliable reports indicate that both Mahdi Abu Dheeb and Jalila al-Salman were tortured in detention. Dheeb is also suffering from diabetes and high blood pressure, as well as heart and stomach problems.

Acts of interference by the government12-08-2013

It is believed that the government has recently backed the creation of an alternative and rival federation, Bahrain Labour Union Free Federation (BLUFF), to undermine the GFBTU as a legitimate, representative and democratic organisation. The BLUFF leadership, with a number of pro-government columnists and pro-government parliament members; has been spearheading a fierce defamation campaign against the GFBTU. These campaigns have accused the GFBTU leadership of treason, defaming Bahrain’s image, and of being led by a foreign agenda. Recently, the BLUFF organised a rally outside a UN building in which the GFBTU, ITUC and ILO International Labour Organization A tripartite United Nations (UN) agency established in 1919 to promote working and living conditions. The main international body charged with developing and overseeing international labour standards.

See tripartism, ITUC Guide to international trade union rights
were denounced. In some cases, collective bargaining collective bargaining The process of negotiating mutually acceptable terms and conditions of employment as well as regulating industrial relations between one or more workers’ representatives, trade unions, or trade union centres on the one hand and an employer, a group of employers or one or more employers’ organisations on the other.

See collective bargaining agreement
with GFBTU affiliates has been stopped without justification and been replaced by negotiations with management-backed trade unions.

Infringement of basic rights and anti-union discrimination12-08-2013

Workers who had participated in the “Pearl Roundabout protests” have been systematically dismissed by their employers. The General Federation of Bahrain Trade Unions (GFBTU) stated that employers are refusing to reinstate workers under their previous contracts but are instead forcing them to sign new contracts.

All public financial support for the GFBTU was stopped, while the Chamber of Commerce and the Bahraini employers’ association continue to receive funding. A total of 55 GFBTU trade union leaders have been dismissed.

On 1 May 2012, riot police fired tear gas and stun grenades at World Labour Day protesters in Manama as they demanded the release of the jailed leaders of the 2011 uprising.

Mahdi Issa Abu Dheeb and Jalila Al-Salman, from the Bahraini Teachers Association (BTA), were arrested in 2011 for participating in pro-democracy demonstrations. They remain in detention.

Striking migrant construction workers forced to leave01-07-2010

Hundreds of construction workers went on a two-day strike strike The most common form of industrial action, a strike is a concerted stoppage of work by employees for a limited period of time. Can assume a wide variety of forms.

See general strike, intermittent strike, rotating strike, sit-down strike, sympathy strike, wildcat strike
at the start of July to protest underpayment and poor living conditions. The strike strike The most common form of industrial action, a strike is a concerted stoppage of work by employees for a limited period of time. Can assume a wide variety of forms.

See general strike, intermittent strike, rotating strike, sit-down strike, sympathy strike, wildcat strike
was called off after the strike strike The most common form of industrial action, a strike is a concerted stoppage of work by employees for a limited period of time. Can assume a wide variety of forms.

See general strike, intermittent strike, rotating strike, sit-down strike, sympathy strike, wildcat strike
leaders reportedly agreed to leave Bahrain and return home. The company director said that 10 men who had been “instigating the workers” to strike strike The most common form of industrial action, a strike is a concerted stoppage of work by employees for a limited period of time. Can assume a wide variety of forms.

See general strike, intermittent strike, rotating strike, sit-down strike, sympathy strike, wildcat strike
had agreed to voluntarily leave the country and return home while complaints about living conditions, wages and overtime would be looked into. However, the Bahrain Human Rights Watch Society stated that the men had feared they were made into scapegoats and would be victimised if they stayed at work, so they had little choice but to accept repatriation despite their right to protest.

© ITUC-CSI-IGB 2013 | www.ituc-csi.org | Contact Design by Pixeleyes.be - maps: jVectorMap