5 – Rechte nicht garantiert
Der Globale Rechtsindex des IGB

Benin

Die Mitgliedsorganisationen des IGB in Benin sind die Centrale des Syndicats de Secteurs Privé, Parapublic et Informel du Bénin (CSPIB), die Confédération des Organisations Syndicales Indépendantes du Bénin (COSI), die Confédération des Syndicats Autonomes du Bénin (CSA), die Confédération Générale des Travailleurs du Bénin (CGTB) und die Union Nationale des Syndicats des Travailleurs du Bénin (UNSTB).

Praxis

Browse by:

Zwei führende Vertreter der Polizeigewerkschaft verhaftet 02-10-2017

Am 2. August 2017 wurde Clément Akiye, der Generalsekretär der Gewerkschaft SYNAPOLICE, wegen Leichtfertigkeit bei der Überwachung des Wohnsitzes des früheren Bürgermeisters von Cotonou verhaftet, nachdem einige Tage zuvor eine Reihe von Gewerkschaftsaktionen durchgeführt und mehrere fragwürdige Ernennungen, selektive Sanktionen und Diskriminierung, unter der der Großteil der Polizeibeamten des Landes zu leiden hat, in den Medien verurteilt worden waren.
Einen Monat später, im September 2017, wurde Patrice Trekpo, der geschäftsführende Generalsekretär der Gewerkschaft SYNA-EFC (Syndicat national des eaux, forêts et chasse), ebenfalls 60 Tage lang inhaftiert, nachdem er am 3. September die Reformen der Regierung in der Forstwirtschaft, das Fehlen eines Rahmens für den sozialen Dialog und die Weigerung des Ministers, die Gewerkschaften dieses Sektors zu empfangen, im Fernsehen verurteilt hatte. Im November wurde ein Ausschlussverfahren gegen Patrice Trekpo eingeleitet.
Um gegen diese Festnahmen zu protestieren, die einen Verstoß gegen grundlegende Freiheiten und Gewerkschaftsrechte darstellen, haben die beninischen Gewerkschaftsdachverbände, darunter CSTB, CSA-BENIN, CGTB, COSI-BENIN, UNSTB, CSUB und CSPIB, im Oktober einen friedlichen Marsch und im November ein Sit-in beim Ministerium für Lebensqualität und nachhaltige Entwicklung organisiert.
Diese Festnahmen, die wie Vergeltungsmaßnahmen aussehen, könnten mit der im Juli vorgeschlagenen Einsetzung einer neuen Einheit zur Wahrung der inneren Sicherheit in Verbindung stehen, der Republikanischen Polizei. Der Vorschlag sieht auch die Abschaffung der Vereinigungsfreiheit Vereinigungsfreiheit Das Recht auf die Gründung von und den Beitritt zu Gewerkschaften nach eigener Wahl sowie das Recht der Gewerkschaften, ungehindert zu arbeiten und ihre Aktivitäten ohne unzulässige Eingriffe zu verrichten.

vgl. IGB-Leitfaden für internationale Gewerkschaftsrechte
und des Streikrechtes für die Sicherheitskräfte vor.

Gewerkschaftsaktivitäten von Studierenden verboten 02-10-2017

Obwohl das Verfassungsgericht am 16. März 2017 einen Erlass des Ministerrates vom 5. Oktober 2016 für null und nichtig erklärt hatte, da er gegen die Vereinigungs- und die Versammlungsfreiheit verstoße, hat die Regierung diesen Erlass bisher offenbar noch nicht aufgehoben. Der Erlass untersagt sämtliche Versammlungen, Demonstrationen und Kundgebungen aller Verbände, Vereinigungen oder Dachverbände an den Universitäten des Landes. Am 2. Oktober 2017 folgte ein neuer Erlass, der die Modalitäten für die Zusammenarbeit der Studierendenorganisationen mit dem Staat und den staatlichen Universitäten der Republik Benin festlegt.

Lehrkräfte wegen Lohnprotest schikaniert17-03-2015

Am 17. März begannen die von der Lehrergewerkschaft Fédération des Syndicats de l’Education Nationale (FESEN) vertretenen Lehrkräfte einen Streik Streik Die gängigste Form einer Arbeitskampfmaßnahme; eine kollektive Arbeitsniederlegung der Beschäftigten für eine bestimmte Zeit; kann vielfältige Formen annehmen.

vgl. Generalstreik, unterbrochener Streik, rollierender Streik, Sitzstreik, Sympathiestreik, wilder Streik, Bummelstreik
, um die Auszahlung der anderen öffentlich Bediensteten zugestandenen 25-prozentigen Erhöhung des Lebenshaltungskostenindex zu fordern anstatt der von der Regierung angebotenen monatlichen Zulage in Höhe von 10.000 CFA-Francs. Ferner forderten sie die Einstellung der Drohungen gegenüber Lehrkräften und der ungerechten Versetzungen aufgrund ihrer Beteiligung an den Protesten. Während eines früheren Streiks, der im Mai 2014 beendet worden war, hatte sich die Gewerkschaft außerdem über Drohungen gegenüber führenden Lehrergewerkschaftsvertretern beklagt.

Protestmarsch und Streik der Lehrkräfte unterbunden12-02-2015

Am Vormittag des 12. Februar 2015 wurde ein Protestmarsch der Grundschullehrergewerkschaften in der Stadt Abomey von der Polizei unterbunden. Der Marsch war von der Interessengemeinschaft „Forum des travailleurs et des peuples“ organisiert worden, um u.a. die Zahlung von Sozialversicherungsleistungen für sechs Jahre zu fordern. Unmittelbar nach Beginn des Marsches wurden die Protestierenden von uniformierten Polizisten umstellt. Angeordnet hatte dies der örtliche Verwaltungschefs Armand Maurice, der ihre Aktion als gesetzwidrig bezeichnete. Durch derart viele uniformierte Polizeibeamte eingeschüchtert, veranstalteten die Demonstranten statt des Marsches ein Sit-in.

Generalstreik31-01-2014

Trotz Einschüchterungen und angedrohter Lohnabzüge haben die Gewerkschaften in Benin, darunter CSTB, CSA-BENIN, CGTB, COSI-BENIN und CSPIB, im Januar 2014 zum Generalstreik aufgerufen, um gegen die Unterdrückung einer friedlichen und legalen Protestaktion am 27. Dezember 2013 zu protestieren. Regierungsvertreter, insbesondere der Kabinettschef des Grundschulministers, Albert Adagbe, und der Generalsekretär der Regierung, Eugène Dossoumon, gaben Erklärungen in den Medien ab, um den Beschäftigten zu drohen. Beschäftigte, die an einem von den Gewerkschaften organisierten Protestmarsch für die Erhöhung des Mindestlohns im privaten Sektor und in staatlichen Unternehmen teilgenommen hatten, waren von der Polizei angegriffen worden, wobei zahlreiche Menschen verletzt worden waren, darunter führende Gewerkschaftsvertreter. Die Polizei hatte Tränengas eingesetzt, um Hunderte friedliche Demonstranten zu vertreiben. Die Gewerkschaften forderten Respekt vor den demokratischen Freiheiten und den Gewerkschaftsrechten sowie Sicherheit für zivilgesellschaftliche Organisationen und politische Parteien mit abweichenden Ansichten.

Lehrerstreik in Benin20-03-2012

Zwei Lehrkräfte wurden wegen Missachtung des Verbots von Zusammenkünften am Arbeitsplatz verhaftet, und 14 weitere wurden auf Ersuchen ihres Direktors unsanft behandelt und festgenommen, weil sie sich an einem Sitzstreik Sitzstreik Eine Form des Arbeitskampfes, bei der sich die Beschäftigten an ihrem Arbeitsplatz hinsetzen, jedoch keine Arbeit verrichten.

vgl. Streik
beteiligt hatten. Zwei Gewerkschaftsvertreter, Jules Amoussouga und Cécil Ayadokoun, wurden ebenfalls verhaftet, weil sie mit ihren Kolleginnen und Kollegen über die Fortsetzung des Streiks diskutiert hatten. Obwohl die Lehrkräfte anschließend wieder freigelassen wurden, machen diese Festnahmen das repressive Klima in Benin deutlich.
Am 14. März beschloss der Ministerrat eine Reihe von Maßnahmen, darunter die Aufhebung der Zulassung sämtlicher in irgendeiner Form an dem Streik Streik Die gängigste Form einer Arbeitskampfmaßnahme; eine kollektive Arbeitsniederlegung der Beschäftigten für eine bestimmte Zeit; kann vielfältige Formen annehmen.

vgl. Generalstreik, unterbrochener Streik, rollierender Streik, Sitzstreik, Sympathiestreik, wilder Streik, Bummelstreik
beteiligter Lehrer/innen. Zudem hat die Regierung damit begonnen, streikende Beschäftigte durch Wehrpflichtige zu ersetzen.

Gesetzesänderungen ohne Konsultationen 11-01-2012

Ein Gesetzentwurf, der das Streikrecht weiter einschränken würde, wird gegenwärtig geprüft. Die Gewerkschaften haben die damit verbundene Eile und das Fehlen von Konsultationen nachdrücklich kritisiert.

Missachtetes Streikrecht, stockende Tarifverhandlungen, gewerkschaftsfeindliche Eingriffe und Attacken30-11-2009

Das ganze Jahr über unterhielten die Behörden den führenden Gewerkschaftsvertretern zufolge miserable Beziehungen zu den Gewerkschaften. Zwei Protestaktionen wurden trotz der seitens der Gewerkschaften getroffenen Vorkehrungen für ungesetzlich erklärt. Die repräsentativsten Organisationen haben die Versuche der Machthaber angeprangert, sie mundtot zu machen. In der Bemühung, Kritiken hinsichtlich staatlicher Misswirtschaft und verschlechterter sozioökonomischer Bedingungen zum Schweigen zu bringen, haben die Regierung und der Staatschef Eingriffe in die Buchführung der Gewerkschaften vorgenommen (mehrere Wochen andauernder Auftrag der staatlichen Generalinspektion im Gewerkschaftshaus). Des Weiteren haben sie „patriotische“ Gewerkschafter und Vereinigungen unterstützt. Ferner warfen die Gewerkschaften den Behörden eine ablehnende Haltung gegenüber dem sozialen Dialog vor. Sitzungen wurden rasch abgefertigt und ständig verschoben, oder die repräsentativen Organisationen wurden nicht dazu eingeladen, wie von den führenden Lehrergewerkschaften anlässlich der Einführung des Nationalrats für Bildung im September beobachtet wurde. Am 18. Dezember wurde jedoch eine Nationale Kommission für Koordinierung und Tarifverhandlungen ins Leben gerufen.

© ITUC-CSI-IGB 2013 | www.ituc-csi.org | Contact Design by Pixeleyes.be - maps: jVectorMap

5 – No guarantee of rights
The ITUC Global Rights Index

Benin

The ITUC affiliates in Benin are the Centrale des Syndicats de Secteurs Privé, Parapublic et Informel du Bénin (CSPIB), the Confédération des Organisations Syndicales Indépendantes du Bénin (COSI), the Confédération des Syndicats Autonomes du Bénin (CSA), the Confédération Générale des Travailleurs du Bénin (CGTB) and the Union Nationale des Syndicats des Travailleurs du Bénin (UNSTB).

In practice

Browse by:

Two trade union leaders detained 02-10-2017

On 2 August 2017, Clément Akiye, general secretary of the national police trade union SYNAPOLICE was detained on charges of negligence in the execution of a surveillance mission at the home of the former mayor of Cotonou. His arrest was made just days after a series of trade union actions and his denunciation in the media of several irregular appointments, selective sanctions and the discrimination suffered by the majority of Benin’s police officers.
A month later, in September 2017, Patrice Trekpo, acting general secretary of the national waters, forests and hunting union SYNA-EFC, was also detained for 60 days following his appearance on Golfe TV, on 3 September, during which he denounced the government’s reforms in the forestry sector, the absence of any framework for social dialogue social dialogue Discussion and co-operation between the social partners on matters of common interest, such as economic and social policy. Involves participation by the state where tripartism is practice. , and the minister’s refusal to meet with the trade unions from the sector. In November, Patrice Trekpo was subjected to disciplinary proceedings.
Benin’s trade union centres, the CSTB, CSA-BENIN, CGTB, COSI-BENIN, UNSTB, CSUB and CSPIB, staged a peaceful march in October, followed by a sit-in, in November, at the Ministry of Living Conditions and Sustainable Development, to protest against these detentions, which constitute a violation of fundamental trade union rights and freedoms.
These arrests, viewed as acts of reprisal, could be linked to the proposal to set up a new internal security force, the Republican police, presented in July, under which security force officers would be denied the right to organise and to strike strike The most common form of industrial action, a strike is a concerted stoppage of work by employees for a limited period of time. Can assume a wide variety of forms.

See general strike, intermittent strike, rotating strike, sit-down strike, sympathy strike, wildcat strike
.

Ban on student union activities 02-10-2017

Despite being declared null and void for violating freedom of association freedom of association The right to form and join the trade union of one’s choosing as well as the right of unions to operate freely and carry out their activities without undue interference.

See Guide to the ITUC international trade union rights framework
and assembly by the Constitutional Court on 16 March 2017, the government has not seemingly annulled the decree, issued on 5 October 2016 by the Council of Ministers, banning all forms of protest, expression and meetings, for all federations, unions, associations or umbrella organisations in all national universities. Instead, a new decree passed on 2 October 2017 sets out the provisions governing the collaboration of student organisations with the state and the authorities of the public universities in the Republic of Benin.

Teachers complain of harassment over pay protest17-03-2015

On 17 March teachers represented by the national federation of education unions, the Fédération des Syndicats de l’Education Nationale (FESEN), went on strike strike The most common form of industrial action, a strike is a concerted stoppage of work by employees for a limited period of time. Can assume a wide variety of forms.

See general strike, intermittent strike, rotating strike, sit-down strike, sympathy strike, wildcat strike
to demand the payment of the 25 per cent index rise granted to other civil servants, rather than the monthly bonus of 10,000 Cfa francs offered by the government. Their demands also included the lifting of threats against teachers and unfair transfers for their part in the protests. During an earlier strike strike The most common form of industrial action, a strike is a concerted stoppage of work by employees for a limited period of time. Can assume a wide variety of forms.

See general strike, intermittent strike, rotating strike, sit-down strike, sympathy strike, wildcat strike
that ended in May 2014, the union had also complained of threats against teachers’ union leaders.

Teachers’ protest march and strike action repressed12-02-2015

On the morning of 12 February 2015, police and gendarmes in the town of Abomey prevented a march by unions representing primary school teachers from going ahead. The march had been organised by the umbrella group “Forum des travailleurs et des peuples” (the Peoples’ and Workers’ Forum) to demand, amongst other things, the payment of six years’ worth of social security benefits. As soon as the march began, the protesters found themselves surrounded by uniformed police officers and gendarmes, who were there on the orders of the head of the local administration, the “Prefet”, Armand Maurice, who claimed their action was illegal. Faced with the intimidating presence of so many uniformed officers, the protestors turned their march into a sit-in.

General strike31-01-2014

Despite intimidation and threats to deduct wages, trade unions in Benin, including the CSTB, CSA-BENIN, CGTB, COSI-BENIN and CSPIB called for a general strike strike The most common form of industrial action, a strike is a concerted stoppage of work by employees for a limited period of time. Can assume a wide variety of forms.

See general strike, intermittent strike, rotating strike, sit-down strike, sympathy strike, wildcat strike
in January 2014 to protest against the repression of a peaceful and legal protest action on 27 December 2013. Government representatives, in particular the Chief of staff of the Minister of elementary and primary school education, Albert ADAGBE, and the Secretary General of the Government, Eugène DOSSOUMON, threatened workers through statements in the media. Workers marching in a protest organised by unions to call for an increase in the minimum wage in the private sector and state-owned companies, had been attacked by police leaving several people injured, including union leaders. Police had used tear gas to disperse hundreds of workers who were protesting peacefully. Trade unions demanded respect for democratic freedoms and trade union rights as well as safety for civil society organisations and political parties with opposing views.

Teachers’ strike in Benin20-03-2012

Two teachers were arrested for violating the ban on meetings in the workplace and 14 others manhandled and arrested at their director’s request for taking part in a sit-down strike sit-down strike A form of industrial action whereby workers occupy their workplace but do not carry out any work.

See strike
. Two trade union representatives, Jules Amoussouga and Cécil Ayadokoun, were also arrested for holding discussions with their colleagues regarding the continuation of the strike strike The most common form of industrial action, a strike is a concerted stoppage of work by employees for a limited period of time. Can assume a wide variety of forms.

See general strike, intermittent strike, rotating strike, sit-down strike, sympathy strike, wildcat strike
action. Although the teachers were subsequently released, these arrests are illustrative of the climate of repression in Benin.
On 14 March, the Council of Ministers decided on a range of measures including the deregistering of all teachers taking action or in any way involved in the strike strike The most common form of industrial action, a strike is a concerted stoppage of work by employees for a limited period of time. Can assume a wide variety of forms.

See general strike, intermittent strike, rotating strike, sit-down strike, sympathy strike, wildcat strike
. The government has, moreover, started to hire military conscripts to replace striking workers.

No consultation over legislative changes11-01-2012

A draft law restricting the right to strike strike The most common form of industrial action, a strike is a concerted stoppage of work by employees for a limited period of time. Can assume a wide variety of forms.

See general strike, intermittent strike, rotating strike, sit-down strike, sympathy strike, wildcat strike
is currently under consideration. The trade unions have roundly condemned the haste with which this initiative is being dealt with and the lack of consultation.

Right to strike flouted, collective bargaining at a standstill, anti-union attacks and interference 30-11-2009

Throughout the year, the authorities maintained a negative attitude in their relations with the trade unions, say union leaders. Two protest actions were declared illegal despite the precautions taken by the unions. The most representative organisations denounced the government’s efforts to silence them. In an attempt to stifle criticism of their poor management of the country and the deteriorating socio-economic situation, the government and the Head of State investigated the trade unions’ accounts (with the State’s General Inspectorate spending several weeks at the trade unions’ headquarters). They also backed “patriotic” trade unions and associations. The unions also reproached the authorities for their disregard for social dialogue social dialogue Discussion and co-operation between the social partners on matters of common interest, such as economic and social policy. Involves participation by the state where tripartism is practice. . Meetings were rushed and constantly delayed, or the representative organisations were not invited, as the main teaching unions found when the National Education Council was set up in September. On 18 December, however, a National Consultation and Collective Bargaining collective bargaining The process of negotiating mutually acceptable terms and conditions of employment as well as regulating industrial relations between one or more workers’ representatives, trade unions, or trade union centres on the one hand and an employer, a group of employers or one or more employers’ organisations on the other.

See collective bargaining agreement
Commission was created.

© ITUC-CSI-IGB 2013 | www.ituc-csi.org | Contact Design by Pixeleyes.be - maps: jVectorMap