2 – Wiederholte Rechtsverletzungen
Der Globale Rechtsindex des IGB

Kroatien

Die Mitgliedsorganisationen des IGB in Kroatien sind die Nezavisni Hrvatski Sindikati (NHS) und die Union of Autonomous Trade Unions of Croatia (UATUC).

Praxis

Browse by:

Ernsthafte Angriffe auf die Gewerkschaftsrechte bei der Werft Brodosplit dauern an 07-05-2018

Die Werft Brodosplit ist für ihre Gewerkschaftsfeindlichkeit bekannt (s. frühere Einträge aus den Jahren 2013 und 2015). Seit 2015, als der Arbeitgeber den Tarifvertrag Tarifvertrag Eine gewöhnlich schriftliche Vereinbarung, die die Ergebnisse von Kollektiv-/Tarifverhandlungen zwischen Arbeitnehmer- und Arbeitgebervertretern enthält.

vgl. Kollektiv-/Tarifverhandlungen
unerklärlicherweise gekündigt hatte, sind Verhandlungen über einen neuen Vertrag nie richtig in Gang gekommen, so dass die Beschäftigten auf den guten Willen ihres Arbeitgebers angewiesen sind.
Im Jahr 2017 haben die Werft Brodosplit und rund 50 Tochterunternehmen auf dem Gelände den Beschäftigten ein Formular vorgelegt, auf dem sie ihren Gewerkschaftsaustritt bestätigen sollten. Auf diese Weise wurden 1.500 Gewerkschaftsmitglieder genötigt, ihre Mitgliedschaft aufzugeben. Neu eingestellte Beschäftigte, hauptsächlich junge und ausländische Arbeitskräfte, wurden bei der Unterzeichnung ihres Arbeitsvertrages vor einem Gewerkschaftsbeitritt gewarnt. Es hieß, dass „ihr Arbeitgeber die beste Gewerkschaft“ sei.
Darüber hinaus erhielt der Regionalvertreter und Betriebsratsvorsitzende bei Brodosplit Drohungen auf seinem Mobiltelefon wegen seiner Aktivitäten auf der Werft. Diese Drohungen wurden der Polizei gemeldet, und es wurde eine Untersuchung eingeleitet. Gezielte Angriffe auf Gewerkschaften und Gewerkschaftsmitglieder sind auf der Werft Brodosplit keine Seltenheit. Im Jahr 2016 hatte der Eigner von Brodosplit bereits die Gewerkschaftsbüros auf dem Betriebsgelände besetzt und Dokumente konfisziert, so dass die Gewerkschaft ihre Arbeit nicht mehr verrichten konnte. Während die Betriebsgewerkschaft Betriebsgewerkschaft Damit kann entweder eine Unternehmensgewerkschaft oder eine gelbe Gewerkschaft gemeint sein Angst hatte, diesen Vorfall der Polizei zu melden, hat die Metallarbeitergewerkschaft SMH-IS (Sindikat metalaca Hrvatske-Industrijski sindikat) Beschwerde gegen diese ernsthaften Angriffe auf die Gewerkschaftsrechte erhoben. Diese Fälle sind bis heute bei Gericht anhängig.

Tarifverhandlungen in Sisak unter Beschuss13-03-2017

Während des Jahres 2017 kam es zu einem Konflikt zwischen den Gewerkschaften und dem Bürgermeister der südöstlich von Zagreb gelegenen Stadt Sisak. Die Stadt, der zahlreiche öffentliche Institutionen und Unternehmen in der Gegend gehören, hat das Recht der Gewerkschaften auf Tarifverhandlungen gezielt und wiederholt untergraben. Auf Anweisung des Bürgermeisters haben die Direktoren dieser Unternehmen Verhandlungen mit den Gewerkschaften vermieden und stattdessen in einer Reihe von Fragen, die laut Gesetz nur mit den Gewerkschaften verhandelt werden können, Vereinbarungen direkt mit den Betriebsräten abgeschlossen. Die Gewerkschaften haben am 13. März 2017 einen Bericht bei der Staatsanwaltschaft eingereicht, aber seither keine Informationen erhalten. Sie erwägen jetzt die Erhebung einer Klage beim IAO Internationale Arbeitsorganisation Eine dreigliedrige Organisation der Vereinten Nationen (UN), die 1919 ins Leben gerufen wurde, um die Arbeits- und Lebensbedingungen zu fördern. Sie ist die für die Formulierung und Überwachung internationaler Arbeitsnormenwichtigste internationale Organisation.

vgl. Dreigliedrigkeit, IGB-Leitfaden für internationale Gewerkschaftsrechte
-Ausschuss für Vereinigungsfreiheit Vereinigungsfreiheit Das Recht auf die Gründung von und den Beitritt zu Gewerkschaften nach eigener Wahl sowie das Recht der Gewerkschaften, ungehindert zu arbeiten und ihre Aktivitäten ohne unzulässige Eingriffe zu verrichten.

vgl. IGB-Leitfaden für internationale Gewerkschaftsrechte
gegen diese flagrante Verletzung des Rechtes auf Tarifverhandlungen.

Streikbeschränkungen20-10-2017

Der Gewerkschaftsbund UATUC (Union of Autonomous Trade Unions of Croatia) hat im Jahr 2017 einen beunruhigenden Trend festgestellt: Nahezu jedes bei Gericht beantragte Streikverbot wurde tatsächlich verhängt. Der UATUC hat die enge gerichtliche Auslegung gewerkschaftlicher Interessen und deren Abstimmung mit den Geschäftsinteressen, wie im Falle des Streikverbots bei der Universität für kroatische Studien im Jahr 2017, verurteilt.
Im Herbst 2017 hat die Regierung zudem trotz der Einwände des UATUC das Gesetz über Versorgungsbetriebe eingeführt. Nach Ansicht der Gewerkschaft steht das Gesetz im Widerspruch zu Abschnitt 214 des Arbeitsgesetzes, da es dem Arbeitgeber die Möglichkeit gibt, im Alleingang Regeln festzulegen, die das Streikrecht einschränken könnten.

Arbeitgeber greifen in Tarifverhandlungen ein11-11-2017

Die Metallarbeitergewerkschaft SMH-IS (Sindikat metalaca Hrvatske-Industrijski sindikat) hat die generell fehlende Verhandlungsbereitschaft seitens der Arbeitgeber verurteilt, die Verzögerungstaktiken anwenden, Verhandlungen mit einer gelben Gewerkschaft begünstigen oder Verhandlungen schlichtweg verweigern. Im Einzelhandel haben die Arbeitgeber Tarifverhandlungen kontinuierlich verzögert, so dass es schließlich mehr als vier Jahre dauerte, bis ein Branchentarifvertag abgeschlossen wurde. In den meisten Fällen haben die Arbeitgeber ihren Widerstand gegen Verhandlungen mit betrieblichen Regelungen begründet, die laut Arbeitsgesetz in Betrieben mit mehr als 20 Beschäftigten eingeführt werden müssen. Diese Regelungen geben jedoch gewöhnlich lediglich den Wortlaut des Arbeitsgesetzes wieder und gehen auf Fragen wie Löhne und Arbeitsbedingungen nicht im Detail oder überhaupt nicht ein. Somit liegt es weitgehend im Ermessen der Arbeitgeber, die Arbeitsbedingungen festzulegen.

Arbeitgeber greifen in gewerkschaftliche Organisierungsarbeit ein 11-11-2017

In der Metallindustrie stoßen die Gewerkschaften bei ihren Organisierungsbemühungen nach wie vor auf zahlreiche Schwierigkeiten. Die Metallarbeitergewerkschaft SMH-IS (Sindikat metalaca Hrvatske-Industrijski sindikat) hat vor allem über vier Unternehmen berichtet, bei denen die Beschäftigten an der Gründung einer Gewerkschaft gehindert wurden, gewöhnlich durch Entlassungsdrohungen.
Auch der Gewerkschaftsbund UATUC (Union of Autonomous Trade Unions of Croatia) kritisiert, dass Beschäftigten mit der Nichtverlängerung ihrer befristeten Verträge oder Beförderungsstopps gedroht wird, falls sie einer Gewerkschaft beitreten. UATUC-Mitgliedsgewerkschaften haben über Fälle berichtet, in denen Beschäftigte diskriminiert wurden, die entweder bereits Gewerkschaftsmitglieder waren oder einen Beitritt erwogen, insbesondere in der Sicherheitsbranche. Laut UATUC komme es zudem nicht selten vor, dass die Arbeitgeber neuen Mitarbeiter/innen beim Einstellungsgespräch nachdrücklich rieten, ihrer gelben Gewerkschaft beizutreten.
Diese Eingriffe in die gewerkschaftliche Organisierungsarbeit sind vor dem Hintergrund der Arbeitsmarktsituation in Kroatien zu sehen, wo mehr als 90 Prozent der Arbeitsverträge befristet sind. Während des Jahres 2016 waren 8,4 Prozent der Beschäftigten mit Verträgen beschäftigt, die eine Laufzeit von weniger als drei Monaten hatten.

Versuchte Schwächung der Gewerkschaften durch Einbehaltung der Gewerkschaftsbeiträge 30-06-2015

Trotz vorhandener Verfahren für den automatischen Abzug der Gewerkschaftsbeiträge von den Löhnen haben die Unternehmen in mehr als einem Fall versucht, die Beiträge nicht an die Gewerkschaften weiterzuleiten, wie etwa im Falle des Betriebes KTD Bilan in Orebić, der die Überweisung durch unnötige Verwaltungsverfahren verzögert hat.

Ein anderer Fall war der von Autoprijevoz in Otočac, wo die Beiträge zwar jahrelang von den Löhnen der Beschäftigten abgezogen, jedoch nie auf das Gewerkschaftskonto überwiesen wurden.

Staatliches Unternehmen verhandelt nicht in gutem Glauben01-12-2015

Im Dezember 2015 hat das der Stadt Zagreb gehörende Unternehmen Zagrebački Holding versucht, Tarifverhandlungen mit Gewerkschaften zu führen, obwohl es bereits einen gültigen Tarifvertrag Tarifvertrag Eine gewöhnlich schriftliche Vereinbarung, die die Ergebnisse von Kollektiv-/Tarifverhandlungen zwischen Arbeitnehmer- und Arbeitgebervertretern enthält.

vgl. Kollektiv-/Tarifverhandlungen
mit sieben Anhängen gab. Nach Ansicht der Gewerkschaften sollten dadurch unter dem Vorwand, die allgemeinen Bestimmungen des Tarifvertrages zu konsolidieren, in Wahrheit die Arbeitnehmerrechte in ernsthafter Weise untergraben werden.
Es wurden aber noch weitere Fälle dokumentiert, in denen die Betriebsleitung keine Verhandlungen in gutem Glauben geführt hat:

-  Beim Unternehmen Kostwein Varaždin hat die Geschäftsführung die Verhandlungen mit dem Argument blockiert, dass es Zeit brauche, den Tarifvertrag Tarifvertrag Eine gewöhnlich schriftliche Vereinbarung, die die Ergebnisse von Kollektiv-/Tarifverhandlungen zwischen Arbeitnehmer- und Arbeitgebervertretern enthält.

vgl. Kollektiv-/Tarifverhandlungen
ins Deutsche zu übersetzen, so dass der Arbeitgeber die Möglichkeit hatte, seine offizielle Position zu dem Vertrag deutlich zu machen.

-  Bei der für ihr gewerkschaftsfeindliches Verhalten bekannten Werft Brodosplit wurde kürzlich der Tarifvertrag Tarifvertrag Eine gewöhnlich schriftliche Vereinbarung, die die Ergebnisse von Kollektiv-/Tarifverhandlungen zwischen Arbeitnehmer- und Arbeitgebervertretern enthält.

vgl. Kollektiv-/Tarifverhandlungen
gekündigt, obwohl in ihrem Privatisierungsvertrag das Gegenteil stand.

-  Beim Fährunternehmen Jadrolinija wurden vor einigen Jahren Tarifverhandlungen begonnen, um die Arbeitsbedingungen der Seeleute zu regeln, aber ein Tarifvertrag Tarifvertrag Eine gewöhnlich schriftliche Vereinbarung, die die Ergebnisse von Kollektiv-/Tarifverhandlungen zwischen Arbeitnehmer- und Arbeitgebervertretern enthält.

vgl. Kollektiv-/Tarifverhandlungen
ist nie zustande gekommen, weil der Arbeitgeber systematisch sämtliche Vorschläge der Gewerkschaft abgelehnt hat, wie beispielsweise die Berücksichtigung von Überstunden bei der Berechnung der Löhne.

Institut für Immunologie verwarnt Gewerkschaftsvertreterin wegen Wortmeldung auf Pressekonferenz 01-03-2016

Die Autonome Energie- und Chemiearbeitergewerkschaft Kroatiens (EKN) hat am 1. März 2016 eine Pressekonferenz bezüglich der strategischen Entscheidungen des Instituts für Immunologie organisiert. Bei dieser Gelegenheit sprach eine betriebliche Gewerkschaftsvertreterin im Namen der Gewerkschaft und der Beschäftigten über die zwingende Notwendigkeit, die Produktion fortzusetzen und die relevanten Genehmigungen zu erteilen. Nach der Pressekonferenz verwarnte das Institut die Beschäftigte und drohte ihr mit Entlassung, da „ihr niemand genehmigt“ habe, „sich öffentlich im Namen des Unternehmens zu äußern“, obwohl offensichtlich war, dass sie im Namen der Beschäftigten gesprochen hatte. Die EKN merkte dazu an, dass dies ein unverhohlener Versuch sei, den Gewerkschaften öffentliche Erklärungen zu verbieten, mit denen auf strategische Entscheidungen bezüglich dieses staatlichen Instituts, die von allgemeinem Interesse seien, aufmerksam gemacht werden solle.

Neuer Eigner der Werft Brodosplit attackiert Gewerkschaften17-12-2013

Seit die Werft Brodosplit von Tomislav Debeljak erworben wurde, ist es dort immer wieder zu ernsthafter Gewerkschaftsfeindlichkeit gekommen.

Im März 2013 hat das Management Erklärungen auf seiner Facebook-Seite veröffentlicht, aus denen Versuche hervorgingen, sich der Gewerkschafter zu entledigen und sie an andere Standorte zu versetzen. Zudem ließ es verlauten, dass private Ermittler engagiert worden seien, die den Gewerkschaftern auf der Werft folgten. Es hieß auch, dass bei Gewerkschaftsmitgliedern Lohnabzüge für wohltätige Zwecke vorgenommen würden. Das Management rechtfertigte diese Maßnahmen mit dem Argument, dass Unternehmen ohne Gewerkschaften erfolgreicher seien. Diese Einschüchterungen im Zuge einer achtmonatigen gewerkschaftsfeindlichen Kampagne haben zu einem deutlichen Rückgang der Gewerkschaftsmitgliederzahlen von 2.700 auf 200 geführt.

Im Mai 2013 beschloss das Unternehmen, anhand eines vom Management ausgearbeiteten Fragebogens eine Umfrage unter der Belegschaft durchzuführen. Gefragt wurden die Beschäftigten u.a. danach, für wie schlecht sie Gewerkschaften für den Betrieb hielten. Die Ergebnisse wurden anschließend dazu benutzt, um über die Fortsetzung des Arbeitsverhältnisses zu entscheiden. Insgesamt wurden 20 Beschäftigte wegen ihrer Loyalität gegenüber den Gewerkschaften entlassen, und nahezu alle betrieblichen Gewerkschaftsvertreter verloren ihre Arbeit.

Im November 2013 organisierten die Beschäftigten einen friedlichen Streik Streik Die gängigste Form einer Arbeitskampfmaßnahme; eine kollektive Arbeitsniederlegung der Beschäftigten für eine bestimmte Zeit; kann vielfältige Formen annehmen.

vgl. Generalstreik, unterbrochener Streik, rollierender Streik, Sitzstreik, Sympathiestreik, wilder Streik, Bummelstreik
, um gegen Lohnrückstände zu protestieren. Die Polizei war bei den Protesten zugegen und berichtete, dass es zu keinerlei Gewalt oder Störungen gekommen sei. Dennoch suspendierte das Unternehmen am 18. November 2013 254 Beschäftigte, von denen 20 nach wie vor nicht wieder eingestellt wurden. Tomislav Debeljak schüchtert die Beschäftigten weiterhin ein, indem er Gewerkschafter als Krawallmacher und Terroristen bezeichnet.

Gewerkschaftsfeindliche Diskriminierung20-03-2013

Die Geschäftsführung der Werft Brodosplit hat insgesamt 35 Gewerkschaftsmitglieder ohne Erklärung oder Begründung entlassen und eine Sicherheitsfirma engagiert, um Gewerkschaftsmitgliedern und betrieblichen Gewerkschaftsvertretern zu folgen und im Falle von Amtsträgern der Gewerkschaft Untersuchungen anzustellen.

Diskriminierung von Gewerkschaftsmitgliedern24-12-2012

Zagreb Holding hat am 24. Dezember 2012 Dario Rastovcan, einen betrieblichen Gewerkschaftsvertreter der Autonomen Gewerkschaft der Beschäftigten öffentlicher Versorgungsbetriebe, entlassen, der die Verletzung gesetzlich und tarifvertraglich garantierter Rechte kritisiert hatte.

Regierung kündigt Manteltarifvertrag12-09-2012

Am 17. September 2012 hat die kroatische Regierung den Manteltarifvertrag gekündigt, der Zusatzleistungen für Beamte und Angestellte im öffentlichen Dienst vorsah, nachdem die Verhandlungen mit den Gewerkschaften über vom Kabinett angeregte Lohn- und Gehaltskürzungen gescheitert waren. Die Kündigung trat am 17. Dezember 2012 in Kraft.

Repressalien wegen Gewerkschaftsaktivitäten31-12-2011

Es kommt immer wieder vor, dass betriebliche Gewerkschaftsvertreter und aktive Gewerkschaftsmitglieder Repressalien bis hin zur Entlassung ausgesetzt sind, wenn sie Arbeitskämpfe organisieren oder sich öffentlich über widerrechtliche Geschäftspraktiken äußern.

© ITUC-CSI-IGB 2013 | www.ituc-csi.org | Contact Design by Pixeleyes.be - maps: jVectorMap

2 – Repeated violations of rights
The ITUC Global Rights Index

Croatia

The ITUC affiliates in Croatia are the Independent Trade Unions of Croatia - Nezavisni Hrvatski Sindikati (NHS) and the Union of Autonomous Trade Unions of Croatia (UATUC).

In practice

Browse by:

Serious attacks on trade union rights continue at Brodosplit Shipyard 07-05-2018

Brodosplit Shipyard is well known for its anti-union behaviour (see previous entries in 2013 and 2015). Since 2015 when the employer inexplicably cancelled the existing collective agreement, negotiations for the conclusion of a new agreement never really started, leaving the workers at the mercy of the employer’s will.
In 2017 Brodosplit Shipyard and some 50 other subsidiaries on the site presented workers with a form whereby they were forced to disaffiliate from the union. As a result, around 1,500 union members were pressured into leaving the union. Newly recruited workers, mostly young and migrant workers, were warned not to join a union when they signed their employment contract. They were told that “their best union is their employer”.
Furthermore, the regional representative and main shop steward shop steward A union worker who represents the members of a union in dealings with the employer. Often elected by union members who work in the same establishment. at Brodosplit Shipyard received threats on his mobile phone because of his activities in the company. These threats were reported to the police and an investigation is ongoing. Targeted attacks on unions and union members are quite frequent at Brodosplit Shipyard. In 2016 the owner of Brodosplit Shipyard had already occupied the company union company union Can be used to describe either an enterprise union or a yellow union. ’s offices and confiscated its documents, thus preventing the trade union from carrying out its activities. While fear prevented the company union company union Can be used to describe either an enterprise union or a yellow union. from reporting this act to the police, the sectoral union, Sindikat metalaca Hrvatske-Industrijski sindikat (SMH-IS), lodged a complaint to denounce these serious attacks on trade union rights As of this date the cases are still pending before the courts.

Attacks on collective bargaining in Sisak 13-03-2017

In 2017 a conflict arose between trade unions and the mayor of Sisak, a city southeast of Zagreb. The city, which owns a great number of public institutions and companies in the area, has deliberately and repeatedly undermined the collective bargaining collective bargaining The process of negotiating mutually acceptable terms and conditions of employment as well as regulating industrial relations between one or more workers’ representatives, trade unions, or trade union centres on the one hand and an employer, a group of employers or one or more employers’ organisations on the other.

See collective bargaining agreement
rights of trade unions. At the instruction of the mayor, the directors of these companies have bypassed negotiations with trade unions and have concluded agreements directly with works councils on a number of issues that, by law, can only be negotiated with trade unions. Unions filed a report with the State Attorney’s Office on 13 March 2017. However, they have received no information since then. Unions are contemplating the submission of a complaint to the ILO International Labour Organization A tripartite United Nations (UN) agency established in 1919 to promote working and living conditions. The main international body charged with developing and overseeing international labour standards.

See tripartism, ITUC Guide to international trade union rights
Committee on Freedom of Association freedom of association The right to form and join the trade union of one’s choosing as well as the right of unions to operate freely and carry out their activities without undue interference.

See Guide to the ITUC international trade union rights framework
to denounce this blatant attack on collective bargaining collective bargaining The process of negotiating mutually acceptable terms and conditions of employment as well as regulating industrial relations between one or more workers’ representatives, trade unions, or trade union centres on the one hand and an employer, a group of employers or one or more employers’ organisations on the other.

See collective bargaining agreement
.

Strike action restricted 20-10-2017

The Union of Autonomous Trade Unions of Croatia (UATUC) observed a worrying trend in 2017 whereby almost every strike strike The most common form of industrial action, a strike is a concerted stoppage of work by employees for a limited period of time. Can assume a wide variety of forms.

See general strike, intermittent strike, rotating strike, sit-down strike, sympathy strike, wildcat strike
action against which employers had asked for a judicial ban was prohibited by the judicial authorities. UATUC has denounced the narrow interpretation by courts of trade union interests and of their balancing with business interests, as was the case with the prohibition of the strike strike The most common form of industrial action, a strike is a concerted stoppage of work by employees for a limited period of time. Can assume a wide variety of forms.

See general strike, intermittent strike, rotating strike, sit-down strike, sympathy strike, wildcat strike
in Hrvatski studiji University in 2017.
Moreover, in the fall 2017 the government adopted the Utility Services Act despite UATUC objections. According to the union, the Act is contrary to section 214 of the Labour Code, as it enables the employer to unilaterally adopt rules which can limit the right to strike strike The most common form of industrial action, a strike is a concerted stoppage of work by employees for a limited period of time. Can assume a wide variety of forms.

See general strike, intermittent strike, rotating strike, sit-down strike, sympathy strike, wildcat strike
.

Employers interfering in collective bargaining 11-11-2017

The Sindikat metalaca Hrvatske-Industrijski sindikat (SMH-IS) has denounced the general reluctance of employers to engage in collective bargaining collective bargaining The process of negotiating mutually acceptable terms and conditions of employment as well as regulating industrial relations between one or more workers’ representatives, trade unions, or trade union centres on the one hand and an employer, a group of employers or one or more employers’ organisations on the other.

See collective bargaining agreement
, using stalling tactics, favouring negotiations with one trade union (yellow union yellow union A union set up and/or controlled by the employer to prevent the establishment of a genuine trade union. ) over another, or outright refusal to negotiate. For example, in the retail sector, employers have constantly delayed negotiations, and it took over four years to finally conclude the branch collective agreement. In most cases, employers justified their opposition to bargain collectively by the existence of company by-laws, which they are obliged to adopt in companies of more than 20 workers, as provided in the Labour Code. However, by-laws usually just reproduce the text of the Labour Code, and questions of wages and working conditions are not regulated in detail, if at all. These gaps leave wide discretionary power to employers to set working conditions.

Employers interfering in union organising 11-11-2017

Unions in the metal industry are still facing many difficulties in organising organising The process of forming or joining a trade union, or inducing other workers to form or join one. . The Sindikat metalaca Hrvatske-Industrijski sindikat (SMH-IS) has reported on four enterprises in particular where workers have been prevented from forming a union trade union, usually through threats to their employment.
Similar claims have been made by the Union of Autonomous Trade Unions of Croatia (UATUC), according to which workers are threatened with the non-renewal of their fixed-term employment contract or career freezes if they join a union. UATUC affiliated unions have reported cases of discrimination against workers who were either members of trade unions or were considering joining a union, in particular in the security sector. UATUC also reported on employers’ practices during the recruitment process whereby during job interviews they strongly advise new workers to join their yellow union yellow union A union set up and/or controlled by the employer to prevent the establishment of a genuine trade union. .
These interferences in union organising organising The process of forming or joining a trade union, or inducing other workers to form or join one. have to be examined in light of the situation of the labour market in Croatia where more than 90 per cent of employment contracts are fixed-term contracts. In 2016, 8.4 per cent of workers in Croatia were employed with contracts of less than three months.

Various attempts to weaken trade unions withholding union dues30-06-2015

Despite the existence of check-off check-off A system where union dues and fees are automatically deducted by the employer from the workers’ paychecks and then remitted to the respective union. agreements, in more than one case enterprises attempts to withhold union dues have been registered.
Such was the case of the company KTD Bilan from Orebić that was maliciously delaying with unnecessary administrative procedures the allocation of membership dues.
Another case was registered at Autoprijevoz – Otočac where the local Transport and Communication dues were collected from workers’ wages for years, but they have never been transferred to the trade union account.

Public enterprise engages in bad faith in collective bargaining01-12-2015

In December 2015 the Zagrebački holding d.d. (a company owned by the City of Zagreb) tried to engage in collective bargaining collective bargaining The process of negotiating mutually acceptable terms and conditions of employment as well as regulating industrial relations between one or more workers’ representatives, trade unions, or trade union centres on the one hand and an employer, a group of employers or one or more employers’ organisations on the other.

See collective bargaining agreement
with trade unions despite the existence of a valid collective agreement and seven annexes. According to trade unions, this invitation concealed – behind the illusory intention to consolidate general provisions of the collective agreement – the real will to seriously undermine workers’ rights.
Other cases of management engaging in bad faith in collective bargaining collective bargaining The process of negotiating mutually acceptable terms and conditions of employment as well as regulating industrial relations between one or more workers’ representatives, trade unions, or trade union centres on the one hand and an employer, a group of employers or one or more employers’ organisations on the other.

See collective bargaining agreement
processes were registered:
-  at Kostwein Varaždin Company where management stalled negotiations with the excuse that time was needed to translate the text of the collective agreement into German and therefore allow the enterprise to state its official position with respect to the content of the agreement;

-  at Brodosplit Shipyard where the company, well known for its anti-union behaviours, recently cancelled the collective agreement despite that in its privatisation contract it was explicitly stated the opposite;

-  at the ferry Company Jadrolinija d.d., where a few years ago a collective bargaining collective bargaining The process of negotiating mutually acceptable terms and conditions of employment as well as regulating industrial relations between one or more workers’ representatives, trade unions, or trade union centres on the one hand and an employer, a group of employers or one or more employers’ organisations on the other.

See collective bargaining agreement
procedure was launched to regulate seafarers’ work, but ever since an agreement has never been reached. Such delay was due to employer’s obstructionist attitude, systematically refusing any proposal of the trade union, as for example the one of including extra hours in the basis of calculation of salaries.

The institute of immunology gave a caution to a steward that spoke at a press conference01-03-2016

On 1 March 2016 the Autonomous Trade Union of Energy, Chemistry and Non-metal Workers of Croatia (EKN) organised a press conference regarding policy choices of the Institute of Immunology. At this occasion a shop steward shop steward A union worker who represents the members of a union in dealings with the employer. Often elected by union members who work in the same establishment. spoke in public on behalf of the trade union and of workers on the compelling need to continue the production and issuing relevant permits. Following the press conference, the Institute issued a caution and threatened the worker with dismissal because, according to management, “no one authorised her to speak in public on behalf of the company” while clearly she was speaking on behalf of the workers. In this respect EKN stated that this is a clear attempt to ban trade union public statements that raise awareness on the policy choices of general interest concerning this public institute.

New owner of Brodosplit Shipyard is attacking unions17-12-2013

Brodosplit Shipyard has been engaging in serious anti-union activities ever since it was bought by Tomislav Debeljak.

In March 2013, management posted declarations on its Facebook page indicating attempts to expel trade unions from the company and to relocate them to other premises. Moreover, the company stated that it had hired private investigators who were following trade unionists in the shipyard. It was also explained that salary deductions were made from trade union members for charity purposes. Management justified these actions by arguing that companies without union presence were more successful. These intimidating statements have led to a sharp fall in trade union membership. After about eight months of anti-union campaigning, trade union membership fell from 2,700 to 200.

In May 2013, the company decided to conduct a peer review based on a questionnaire prepared by management. The questionnaire included questions asking workers to judge how bad they think unions are for the company. Results were then used to determine the employment relationship of workers. In total, 20 workers lost their jobs because of their allegiance to the union movement. Almost all shop stewards lost their employment.

In November 2013, workers organised peaceful strike strike The most common form of industrial action, a strike is a concerted stoppage of work by employees for a limited period of time. Can assume a wide variety of forms.

See general strike, intermittent strike, rotating strike, sit-down strike, sympathy strike, wildcat strike
actions to protest wage arrears. Police were present during the protests and reported there was no violence or disruption. Nevertheless, the company suspended the employment contracts of 254 workers on 18 November 2013. Up until today, 20 workers have not been reinstated. Tomislav Debeljak continues to intimidate workers by calling trade unionists hooligans and terrorists.

Anti-union discrimination20-03-2013

Management at Brodosplit, a shipyard, dismissed trade union members, 35 in total, without explanation or justification. Other trade union members have also been threatened with dismissal. The company also hired a security firm to follow trade union members and shop stewards and to investigate trade union officers.

Discrimination against union members24-12-2012

On 24 December 2012, Zagreb Holding dismissed Dario Rastovcan, a shop steward shop steward A union worker who represents the members of a union in dealings with the employer. Often elected by union members who work in the same establishment. from the Autonomous Trade Union of Workers in Public Utilities and Housing Services of Croatia who had been raising violations of rights guaranteed by law and by collective agreements.

Government cancels Basic Collective Agreement12-09-2012

On 17 September 2012, the Croatian Government cancelled the Basic Collective Agreement that provided benefits for officials and employees in the public sector after negotiations with unions broke down over wage cuts proposed by the Cabinet. The decision to cancel the collective agreement took effect on 17 December 2012.

Reprisals for trade union activities31-12-2011
© ITUC-CSI-IGB 2013 | www.ituc-csi.org | Contact Design by Pixeleyes.be - maps: jVectorMap