3 – Regelmäßige Rechtsverletzungen
Der Globale Rechtsindex des IGB

Bahamas

Der IGB hat auf den Bahamas keine Mitgliedsorganisation.

Praxis

Browse by:

Hotelgewerkschaft darf keine Arbeitskampfmaßnahmen ergreifen 31-03-2015

Die Hotelkette Baha Mar und ihre Anlage Melia haben am 24. Dezember 2014 eine einstweilige Verfügung Einstweilige Verfügung Eine gerichtliche Anordnung, mit der ein bestimmtes Aktionsmittel wie ein Streikaufruf oder die Fortsetzung eines Streiks verboten oder verhindert werden soll. des Obersten Gerichtshofes erwirkt, mit der der Hotel- und Gaststättengewerkschaft BHCAWU (Bahamas Hotel, Catering and Allied Workers Union) jegliche Arbeitskampfmaßnahmen untersagt wurden. Die Gewerkschaft hatte mehrere Monate lang mit der Hotelkette über die geplante Kürzung der Zulagen verhandelt, jedoch keine Einigung erzielen können. Angesichts der richterlichen Verfügung hatten die Beschäftigten keinerlei Druckmittel bei dem Konflikt mehr in der Hand. Bei dem Gerichtstermin waren nur die Anwälte von Baha Mar und Melia anwesend.

Gemäß der einstweiligen Verfügung konnte die Gewerkschaft ihre Mitglieder noch nicht einmal auffordern, ihre Arbeitsleistung zu verweigern und zu Hause zu bleiben oder Streikposten Streikposten Personen, die vor den Toren der betroffenen Betriebe auf einen Arbeitskonfliktoder einen Streik aufmerksam machen und versuchen, andere Beschäftigte dazu zu veranlassen, den Betrieb nicht zu betreten bzw. die Verbraucher davon abzuhalten, den Arbeitgeber zu unterstützen. Die Aufstellung von Streikposten vor einem nicht direkt an dem Konflikt beteiligten, neutralen Betrieb zielt darauf ab, indirekt Druck auf den Arbeitgeber, der die eigentliche Zielscheide der Aktion ist, auszuüben. aufzustellen.

Weiter hieß es in der einstweiligen Verfügung, dass sich alle, die sich dieser Verfügung bewusst seien und dagegen verstießen, wegen Missachtung des Gerichtes verantworten und mit „Haftstrafen, Geldbußen und der Beschlagnahmung ihrer Vermögenswerte“ rechnen müssten. Diese Strafen würden für Melia-Beschäftigte gelten, die aus eigener Initiative handelten und nicht auf Geheiß der Gewerkschaft.

Melia und Baha Mar warnten, dass „alle Beschäftigten, die sich an einer illegalen Arbeitsniederlegung beteiligen, mit Folgen rechnen müssen, einschließlich Verhaftung und fristloser Kündigung.“ Darren Woods, der Generalsekretär der BHCAWU, wies darauf hin, dass die Gewerkschaft dadurch praktisch machtlos sei und über keinerlei Druckmittel bei dem Zulagenkonflikt verfüge. Das Hotel behauptete, die Zulagen kürzen zu müssen, um sie in Einklang mit denen zu bringen, die in All-inclusive-Anlagen gezahlt würden. Die Gewerkschaft bezweifelte jedoch, dass das neue Format des Hotels es zu einer All-inclusive-Anlage machen würde, und das Hotel räumte selbst ein, dass die Zulagen den Großteil der Löhne ausmachten.

Die BHCAWU hat bei einer Anhörung am 14. Januar 2015, bei der die Anwälte beider Parteien anwesend waren, Einspruch gegen die einstweilige Verfügung Einstweilige Verfügung Eine gerichtliche Anordnung, mit der ein bestimmtes Aktionsmittel wie ein Streikaufruf oder die Fortsetzung eines Streiks verboten oder verhindert werden soll. erhoben. Der Einspruch ebnete den Weg für Arbeitskampfmaßnahmen, und die Beschäftigten stimmten für einen Streik Streik Die gängigste Form einer Arbeitskampfmaßnahme; eine kollektive Arbeitsniederlegung der Beschäftigten für eine bestimmte Zeit; kann vielfältige Formen annehmen.

vgl. Generalstreik, unterbrochener Streik, rollierender Streik, Sitzstreik, Sympathiestreik, wilder Streik, Bummelstreik
, der am 17. Januar beginnen sollte. Sie waren nicht nur über die Zulagenkürzung erbost, sondern auch über die Entlassung von acht Personalmitgliedern am 13. Januar, einen Tag vor dem Gerichtstermin, die sie als Einschüchterungsmaßnahme auffassten.

Bis Ende März 2015 war der Konflikt noch nicht beigelegt worden.

Individuelle Verträge anstelle von Tarifverhandlungen30-09-2012

Die Elektrizitätsgesellschaft Grand Bahama Power Company soll die Beschäftigten in ihrem Kraftwerk West Sunrise Highway unter Druck gesetzt haben, individuelle Verträge abzuschließen, anstatt sich von der Gewerkschaft Commonwealth Electrical Workers Union (CEWU) vertreten zu lassen. Die CEWU machte deutlich, dass das Unternehmen die Tatsache ausnutze, dass der abgeschlossene Tarifvertrag Tarifvertrag Eine gewöhnlich schriftliche Vereinbarung, die die Ergebnisse von Kollektiv-/Tarifverhandlungen zwischen Arbeitnehmer- und Arbeitgebervertretern enthält.

vgl. Kollektiv-/Tarifverhandlungen
auf Treu und Glauben basiere und nicht eingetragen worden sei. Zudem wurde der betriebliche Gewerkschaftsvertreter Obed Pinder ohne Begründung entlassen.

Führende Gewerkschafterin entlassen31-01-2013

Die Vizepräsidentin der Bahamas Communications and Public Managers Union, Elizabeth Thompson, wurde am 22. Oktober 2012 unter Missachtung des laufenden Tarifvertrages von BTC entlassen. Sie war nahezu fünf Jahre lang in der Rechtsabteilung des Unternehmens beschäftigt gewesen. Im Dezember 2012 kündigte die Gewerkschaftsbewegung (Joint Labour Movement – JLM) unter Federführung von Jennifer Isaacs Dotson und Obie Ferguson einen Streik Streik Die gängigste Form einer Arbeitskampfmaßnahme; eine kollektive Arbeitsniederlegung der Beschäftigten für eine bestimmte Zeit; kann vielfältige Formen annehmen.

vgl. Generalstreik, unterbrochener Streik, rollierender Streik, Sitzstreik, Sympathiestreik, wilder Streik, Bummelstreik
an, wenn BTC sich nicht zu Diskussionen mit der Gewerkschaft über diese Angelegenheit bereit erkläre. Im Januar 2013 gab die Regierung bekannt, dass sie intervenieren werde, um den Konflikt bezüglich der Wiedereinstellung Elizabeth Thompsons bei BTC beizulegen.

© ITUC-CSI-IGB 2013 | www.ituc-csi.org | Contact Design by Pixeleyes.be - maps: jVectorMap

3 – Regular violations of rights
The ITUC Global Rights Index

Bahamas

The ITUC does not have an affiliate in the Bahamas.

In practice

Browse by:

Hotel workers union barred from taking industrial action 31-03-2015

The Baha Mar hotel chain and its Melia resort obtained a Supreme Court injunction injunction A court order prohibiting or preventing a certain course of action, such as calling or continuing with a strike. on 24 December 2014 that barred the Bahamas Hotel, Catering and Allied Workers Union’s (BHCAWU) from taking any form of industrial action industrial action Any form of action taken by a group of workers, a union or an employer during an industrial dispute to gain concessions from the other party, e.g. a strike, go-slow or an overtime ban, or a lockout on the part of the employer. . The union had been in negotiation with the hotel chain for several months over plans to reduce gratuity rates, without reaching agreement. The injunction injunction A court order prohibiting or preventing a certain course of action, such as calling or continuing with a strike. left the workers without any leverage over their dispute. Only attorneys for Baha Mar and Melia were present at the hearing.

Under the terms of the injunction injunction A court order prohibiting or preventing a certain course of action, such as calling or continuing with a strike. , the union could not even tell its members to withdraw their labour by staying at home. The injunction injunction A court order prohibiting or preventing a certain course of action, such as calling or continuing with a strike. prevented the BHCAWU “from inciting and/or inducing any employees of the Melia from abstaining from work, or from picketing picketing Demonstration or patrolling outside a workplace to publicise the existence of an industrial dispute or a strike, and to persuade other workers not to enter the establishment or discourage consumers from patronising the employer. Secondary picketing involves picketing of a neutral establishment with a view to putting indirect pressure on the target employer. or besetting the Melia, or intimidating employees of the Melia or its guests whosoever, or from in any way impeding employees of the Melia from attending work”.

Its terms further warned that persons aware of the injunction injunction A court order prohibiting or preventing a certain course of action, such as calling or continuing with a strike. , and who breached its terms, would be guilty of contempt of court and subject to “imprisonment, fines or having their assets seized”. Such sanctions would thus apply to Melia staff who acted on their own accord, and not at the union’s behest.

Melia and Baha Mar warned that “Any employee who participates in an illegal work stoppage would be subject to consequences, including possible arrest and immediate dismissal.”. Darren Woods, the Bahamas Hotel, Catering and Allied Workers Union’s (BHCAWU) general secretary, pointed out that this left the union virtually impotent, and with no industrial unrest-related leverage over the gratuity dispute. The hotel claimed it needed to lower the gratuity rate to bring it in line with the rates applied in all-inclusive resorts. The union disputed that the hotel’s new format would make it an all-inclusive resort, and the hotel itself recognised that gratuities made up majority of tipped employees’ incomes.

The BHCAWU appealed against the injunction injunction A court order prohibiting or preventing a certain course of action, such as calling or continuing with a strike. , at a hearing where both sides’ attorneys were present, on 14 January 2015. The appeal cleared the way for them to take industrial action industrial action Any form of action taken by a group of workers, a union or an employer during an industrial dispute to gain concessions from the other party, e.g. a strike, go-slow or an overtime ban, or a lockout on the part of the employer. , and workers voted in favour of strike strike The most common form of industrial action, a strike is a concerted stoppage of work by employees for a limited period of time. Can assume a wide variety of forms.

See general strike, intermittent strike, rotating strike, sit-down strike, sympathy strike, wildcat strike
action beginning on 17 January. They were angered not only by the gratuity dispute but also the dismissal on 13 January, the day before the court hearing, of eight staff members, which they described as scare tactics.

The dispute had not been resolved by the end of March 2015.

Promotion of individual contracts as opposed to collective bargaining30-09-2012

It has been reported that the Grand Bahama Power Company is coercing workers at its power plant on West Sunrise Highway to enter individual contracts instead of negotiating with the Commonwealth Electrical Workers Union (CEWU) as the exclusive bargaining agent bargaining agent A workers’ representative authorised to bargain collectively on behalf of workers in a bargaining unit.

See collective bargaining
of the unit. CEWU made clear the company was abusing the fact that the concluded collective agreement was based on good faith and had not been registered. Furthermore, Obed Pinder, a union shop steward shop steward A union worker who represents the members of a union in dealings with the employer. Often elected by union members who work in the same establishment. was dismissed without justification.

Dismissal of union leader31-01-2013

Vice President of the Bahamas Communications and Public Managers Union, Elizabeth Thompson, was dismissed by BTC on 22 October 2012, in violation of an effective collective agreement. She had been employed in the legal department of the company for almost five years. In December 2012, the Joint Labour Movement led by Jennifer Isaacs Dotson and Obie Ferguson announced they would engage in strike strike The most common form of industrial action, a strike is a concerted stoppage of work by employees for a limited period of time. Can assume a wide variety of forms.

See general strike, intermittent strike, rotating strike, sit-down strike, sympathy strike, wildcat strike
action if BTC did not agree to discuss the matter with the union. In January 2013, the government announced its intervention to resolve the conflict regarding Elizabeth Thompson’s reinstatement at BTC.

© ITUC-CSI-IGB 2013 | www.ituc-csi.org | Contact Design by Pixeleyes.be - maps: jVectorMap