4 – Systematische Rechtsverletzungen
Der Globale Rechtsindex des IGB

Kongo (Demokratische Republik)

Die Mitgliedsorganisationen des IGB in der Demokratischen Republik Kongo sind die Confédération Démocratique du Travail (CDT), die Confédération Syndicale du Congo (CSC) und die Union Nationale des Travailleurs du Congo (UNTC).

Praxis

Browse by:

Internationaler Druck bewirkt Einbeziehung der Gewerkschaften in Verhandlungen im Transportwesen 11-11-2015

Bei den Verhandlungen über die Privatisierungspläne der Transport- und Hafengesellschaft SCTP (Société commerciale des transports et des ports) wurden die Gewerkschaften marginalisiert, bedroht und eingeschüchtert, obwohl sie lediglich für die Rechte der Beschäftigten eintreten wollten, die im Zuge des Privatisierungsprozesses Gefahr liefen, auf der Strecke zu bleiben. Am 11. November folgten die Beschäftigten dem Aufruf des Gewerkschaftsbündnisses SCTP-SA (Intersyndicale Solidarité syndicale des travailleurs et cadres du Congo) und legten die Arbeit nieder. Die Internationale Transportarbeiter-Föderation (ITF) hat die Privatisierungspläne bereits seit geraumer Zeit verfolgt, und am 6. November hat ITF-Generalsekretär Steve Cotton Präsident Joseph Kabila schriftlich um eine Intervention gebeten, um die Geschäftsführung dazu zu veranlassen, einen konstruktiven Dialog mit den Gewerkschaften zu führen, was schließlich auch geschah. Nach mehreren Streikstunden kam eine Vereinbarung zwischen dem Staat und der SCTP-SA zustande.

VertreterInnen der Postgewerkschaft entlassen19-06-2014

Am 2. Mai 2014 wurden 12 GewerkschaftsvertreterInnen, die die Beschäftigten der staatlichen Post-und Telekommunikationsgesellschaft (Société Congolaise de Poste et Télécommunications) vertraten, fristlos entlassen. Ihre Entlassung löste eine Protestwelle unter anderen Postangestellten in ganz Afrika aus, die unter Federführung von UNI Global Union eine Kampagne für ihre Wiedereinstellung organisierten. Alle 12 wurden am 19. Juni wieder eingestellt.

Polizei löst Versammlung auf, zwei Gewerkschafter verhaftet26-11-2014

Am 26. November 2014 wurde eine von den Gewerkschaften des öffentlichen Dienstes organisierte Generalsversammlung von der Polizei gewaltsam aufgelöst. Die Intersyndicale Nationale du Secteur Public und die Syndicats Indépendants de l’Administration Publique hatten ihre Mitglieder zur Teilnahme an einer Generalversammlung auf dem Golgotha-Platz außerhalb des Ministeriums für den öffentlichen Dienst eingeladen, um über eine Reihe von Fragen zu diskutieren, vor allem aber über die Weigerung der Regierung, die Löhne und Gehälter im öffentlichen Dienst zu erhöhen, illegale Abzüge von Bankgebühren und spezifische Zulagen. Die beiden Organisationen hatten das Ministerium für den öffentlichen Dienst, das Innenministerium und den Gouverneur von Kinshasa am 17. und am 26. November schriftlich über die geplante Versammlung informiert.

Kurz vor Beginn der Veranstaltung löste die Polizei die Versammlung auf Anordnung des Ministers für den öffentlichen Dienst, Jean Claude Kibala, mit brutaler Gewalt auf. Zwei Gewerkschafter wurden verhaftet: Jean Bosco Puna Nsasa, der Generalsekretär der katholischen Lehrergewerkschaft SYNECAT, und das Gewerkschaftsmitglied Sylvain Kabuya Mwamba. Jean Bosco Puna Nsasa wurde am nächsten Tag freigelassen, während Sylvain Kabuya Mwamba in Haft blieb.

Gewerkschaftsfeindlichkeit18-05-2014

Angaben der Confédération Démocratique du Travail (CDT) zufolge konsultiert der Nationale Arbeitsrat die Gewerkschaften nicht, wenn die Tagesordnung für seine Sitzungen festgelegt wird, wodurch ihre Mitwirkung und Einflussnahme auf sozioökonomische Fragen begrenzt wird. Darüber hinaus ist gewerkschaftsfeindliche Diskriminierung Gewerkschaftsfeindliche diskriminierung Jede Praxis, die eine/n Beschäftigte/n oder eine Gruppe von Beschäftigten aufgrund einer früheren, gegenwärtigen oder zukünftigen Gewerkschaftsmitgliedschaft, legitimer Gewerkschaftsaktivitäten oder der Inanspruchnahme von Gewerkschaftsdiensten benachteiligt; beinhaltet Entlassungen, Versetzungen, Degradierungen, Belästigungen und Ähnliches

vgl. IGB-Leitfaden für internationale Gewerkschaftsrechte
ein weitverbreitetes Problem, vor allem in Unternehmen, die sich in ausländischem Besitz befinden. Die Betriebsleitungen greifen zum Teil in Gewerkschaftswahlen ein, um den von ihnen bevorzugten Kandidaten durchzusetzen. Das Unternehmen Khalico verweigert Tarifverhandlungen mit der Gewerkschaft und verhandelt stattdessen mit einzelnen Beschäftigten, um die Gewerkschaft zu untergraben. Das Bergbauunternehmen Tenke Fungurume Mining hat streikende Beschäftigte durch Leiharbeiter ersetzt, um die Belegschaft einzuschüchtern und den Streik Streik Die gängigste Form einer Arbeitskampfmaßnahme; eine kollektive Arbeitsniederlegung der Beschäftigten für eine bestimmte Zeit; kann vielfältige Formen annehmen.

vgl. Generalstreik, unterbrochener Streik, rollierender Streik, Sitzstreik, Sympathiestreik, wilder Streik, Bummelstreik
zu brechen.

Keine Verhandlungen in gutem Glauben19-08-2013

Berichten der Union Nationale des Travailleurs du Congo zufolge erklären sich die Arbeitgeber zwar zu Tarifverhandlungen bereit, setzen die Gewerkschaften aber unter Druck, die Verhandlungsführer auszuwechseln und drohen, falls sie dies nicht tun, mit dem Abbruch der Verhandlungen.

Gewerkschaftsfeindliche Diskriminierung31-07-2012

Im Juli 2012 wurden fünf von der Nationalen Versicherungsgesellschaft entlassene Gewerkschaftsvertreter wieder eingestellt. Die Geschäftsführung hatte Verhandlungen mit den Beschäftigten kategorisch abgelehnt.

Im März 2013 wurde Jean Ngandu, stellvertretender Regionalsekretär der Confédération Démocratique du Travail, aufgrund seiner Gewerkschaftsarbeit entlassen.

Angaben der Union Nationale des Travailleurs du Congo zufolge erfolgt im Falle gewerkschaftsfeindlicher Diskriminierung keinerlei Reaktion der staatlichen Behörden.

Katastrophale Vermehrung von obrigkeitshörigen Gewerkschaften31-12-2010

Die Behörden fördern seit mehreren Jahren die Gründung Hunderter von Gewerkschaften. Damit wurde die Gewerkschaftsbewegung erheblich und bewusst geschwächt. Es soll knapp 500 offiziell anerkannte Gewerkschaften im Kongo geben. Diese Sachlage wurde durch die repräsentativsten Organisationen beanstandet: Sie halten das Land für das schlimmste Beispiel in Afrika, was die rasante Vermehrung von Gewerkschaften angeht. Unter dem Deckmantel eines politischen Pluralismus war der Grundsatz „Teile und herrsche“ das Leitmotiv der Machthaber. Die Gründung „gelber“ Gewerkschaften und fiktiver Organisationen wurde durch Arbeitgeber und Staat unterstützt. Ein Bericht der IAO Internationale Arbeitsorganisation Eine dreigliedrige Organisation der Vereinten Nationen (UN), die 1919 ins Leben gerufen wurde, um die Arbeits- und Lebensbedingungen zu fördern. Sie ist die für die Formulierung und Überwachung internationaler Arbeitsnormenwichtigste internationale Organisation.

vgl. Dreigliedrigkeit, IGB-Leitfaden für internationale Gewerkschaftsrechte
von 2010 bestätigte diese anarchische Entwicklung, die als Katastrophe für die Gewerkschaftsbewegung angesehen wird. Diese Tendenz gründet sich auf persönliche Interessen, politische Ambitionen oder unzureichende Kenntnis der wirklichen Werte und Ziele des gewerkschaftlichen Pluralismus. In den meisten Fällen zeichnen sich diese Organisationen durch weit verbreitete Korruption und systematische Verstöße gegen die Rechte der Arbeitnehmer aus.

Gewerkschaften aus der Privatwirtschaft so gut wie ausgeschlossen30-11-2009

Das Fehlen echter Gewerkschaften ist in der Privatwirtschaft die Regel. Die meisten Gewerkschaften haben keine aktiven Mitglieder; sie wurden vielmehr von den Arbeitgebern gegründet, um die Arbeitnehmer zu täuschen und um Initiativen zur Gründung echter Gewerkschaften zu vereiteln, vor allem im Sektor Bodenschätze. Menschenrechtsvereinigungen berichten über zahllose Fälle von Verletzungen des Arbeitsrechts in Unternehmen, in denen Gewerkschaftsarbeit keinen Raum bekommt, wie der China Railway Engineering Corporation (CREC), die im Rahmen eines bilateralen Abkommens zwischen China und dem Kongo mit der Sanierung bzw. dem Neubau von Verkehrswegen beauftragt wurde. Die afrikanische Menschenrechtsorganisation ASHADO unterstrich die Machtlosigkeit und die Angst der Arbeitsinspektoren, die sich einfach nicht trauen, gegen diesen Investor vorzugehen, der von den Behörden bevorzugt behandelt wird. Die Société générale industrielle (SGI) mit Sitz in Kasangulu wurde aufgrund der dort vorherrschenden miserablen Arbeitsbedingungen ebenfalls an den Pranger gestellt. Am 29. September wurde Golden Misabiko, ASHADO-Vorsitzender in der Provinz Katanga, zu einem Jahr Haft auf Bewährung verurteilt, weil er auf den Machtmissbrauch und die Nachlässigkeit der örtlichen Behörden angesichts der industriellen und gewerblichen Praktiken in den Uranminen aufmerksam gemacht hatte.

Diskriminierung des Personals der dezentralisierten Verwaltung30-11-2009

Die Beschäftigten der dezentralisierten Einheiten (Städte, Gebiete und Bezirke) sind nicht gewerkschaftlich organisiert und haben auch nicht das Recht auf Tarifverhandlungen oder auf die Gründung einer Gewerkschaft. Diese Beschäftigten befinden sich auf der untersten Stufe der staatlichen Verwaltung und stellen eine Untergruppe der Beamten dar.

Ablehnung von Verhandlungen im öffentlichen Dienst30-11-2009

Der Staat hat sich als Arbeitsgeber oft geweigert, mit den Gewerkschaften zu verhandeln. Die Gewerkschaften des öffentlichen Dienstes haben vor allem die Winkelzüge des Ministers für den öffentlichen Dienst angeprangert, welche die Reformen aufhalten sollten. Der Staat hat die Beschlüsse des 2008 eingerichteten CDPS (Cadre permanent du dialogue social) bislang noch nicht berücksichtigt. Diesbezügliche Klagen und Beschwerden der Gewerkschaften blieben bisher ergebnislos. So hat beispielsweise die Centrale congolaise du travail im September 2008 bei der IAO Internationale Arbeitsorganisation Eine dreigliedrige Organisation der Vereinten Nationen (UN), die 1919 ins Leben gerufen wurde, um die Arbeits- und Lebensbedingungen zu fördern. Sie ist die für die Formulierung und Überwachung internationaler Arbeitsnormenwichtigste internationale Organisation.

vgl. Dreigliedrigkeit, IGB-Leitfaden für internationale Gewerkschaftsrechte
Klage gegen die Regierung eingereicht, weil die folgenreiche Einmischung des Leiters der kongolesischen Zollbehörden im Jahre 2005 letztlich nicht zu seiner Anhörung geführt hatte, obwohl man den Leiter damals entsprechend beschuldigt hatte (er hatte Gewerkschaftsaktivisten entlassen und neue Personalvertreter ernannt).

© ITUC-CSI-IGB 2013 | www.ituc-csi.org | Contact Design by Pixeleyes.be - maps: jVectorMap

3 – Regular violations of rights
The ITUC Global Rights Index

Congo, Democratic Republic of

The ITUC affiliates in the Democratic Republic of Congo are the Confédération Démocratique du Travail (CDT), the Confédération Syndicale du Congo (CSC) and the Union Nationale des Travailleurs du Congo (UNTC).

In practice

Browse by:

Transport: international pressure to include unions in negotiations 11-11-2015

Trade union representatives were excluded from the talks underway within the framework of the plans to privatise the Commercial Transport and Ports Company, SCTP. They were also threatened and intimidated for seeking to represent the workers’ rights threatened by this privatisation process. On 11 November, workers responded to the call for a work stoppage launch by the inter-union grouping Solidarité Syndicale des Travailleurs et Cadres du Congo (SCTP-SA). The International Transport Federation (ITF) has been following this case for some time. On 6 November, its general secretary, Steve Cotton, wrote to President Joseph Kabila, urging him to intervene and to convince the management to accept the principle of constructive dialogue with the trade unions. This was ultimately the route taken. After a few hours of strike strike The most common form of industrial action, a strike is a concerted stoppage of work by employees for a limited period of time. Can assume a wide variety of forms.

See general strike, intermittent strike, rotating strike, sit-down strike, sympathy strike, wildcat strike
action, an agreement was concluded between the state and the SCTP-SA.

Postal union delegates dismissed19-06-2014

Twelve trade union delegates representing workers at the national post and telecommunications company, the Société Congolaise de Poste et Télécommunications, were dismissed without notice on 2 May 2014. Their dismissal provoked an outcry among other postal workers across Africa, who organised a campaign for their release led by the global union, UNI. All 12 were reinstated on 19 June.

Two union leaders arrested as police force meeting to disperse26-11-2014

The National Police violently disrupted a General Assembly organised by the public sector unions on 26 November 2014. The National Public Sector Unions (Intersyndicale Nationale du Secteur Public) and the Independent Public Administration Unions (Syndicats Indépendants de l’Administration Publique) had invited their members to take part in a General Assembly in Golgotha Square, outside the Civil Service Ministry, to discuss a number of issues, notably the government’s refusal to increase civil service pay, the illegal deduction of bank costs, and specific bonuses. The two organisations had notified the Civil Service Ministry, the Interior Ministry and the Governor of Kinshasa of their intention to hold the meeting by letter on 17 and 26 November.

Just as the meeting was about to begin, the National Police arrived and dispersed the participants using brute force, on the orders of the Civil Service Minister Jean Claude Kibala. They also arrested two trade union leaders: Jean Bosco Puna Nsasa, general secretary of the National Union of Catholic Teachers (SYNECAT) and Sylvain Kabuya Mwamba, a member of the Workers’ Union. Mr Nsasa was released the following day, while Mr Mwamba remained in detention.

The Confédération Démocratique du Travail (CDT)...18-05-2014

The Confédération Démocratique du Travail (CDT) argues that the National Labour Council does not consult unions on the meeting agenda and thereby limits their leverage to participate and influence socio-economic matters. Moreover, anti-union discrimination anti-union discrimination Any practice that disadvantages a worker or a group of workers on grounds of their past, current or prospective trade union membership, their legitimate trade union activities, or their use of trade union services. Can constitute dismissal, transfer, demotion, harassment and the like.

See Guide to the ITUC international trade union rights framework

is a widespread problem, in particular in foreign owned companies. Management has intervened in union elections in order to get their preferred candidate elected. The company Khalico refuses requests by unions to open collective bargaining collective bargaining The process of negotiating mutually acceptable terms and conditions of employment as well as regulating industrial relations between one or more workers’ representatives, trade unions, or trade union centres on the one hand and an employer, a group of employers or one or more employers’ organisations on the other.

See collective bargaining agreement
negotiations. Instead, management negotiates individually with workers undermining the efforts of the union. The company Tenke Fungurume Mining has not shied away from replacing workers who went on strike strike The most common form of industrial action, a strike is a concerted stoppage of work by employees for a limited period of time. Can assume a wide variety of forms.

See general strike, intermittent strike, rotating strike, sit-down strike, sympathy strike, wildcat strike
with contract workers in order to intimidate the workers and to break the strike strike The most common form of industrial action, a strike is a concerted stoppage of work by employees for a limited period of time. Can assume a wide variety of forms.

See general strike, intermittent strike, rotating strike, sit-down strike, sympathy strike, wildcat strike
.

Refusal to bargain in good faith19-08-2013

The Union Nationale des Travailleurs du Congo has reported that while employers agree to bargain they put pressure on the unions to replace bargaining agents and threatened not to continue negotiations unless they did so.

Anti-union discrimination31-07-2012

In July 2012, five trade union delegates who had been dismissed from the Société Nationale d’Assurance were reinstated. Management had categorically refused to bargain with workers.

In March 2013, Jean Ngandu, regional Deputy Secretary of the Confédération Démocratique du Travail was dismissed for his trade union activities.

The Union Nationale des Travailleurs du Congo reported that public authorities fail to respond to anti-union discrimination anti-union discrimination Any practice that disadvantages a worker or a group of workers on grounds of their past, current or prospective trade union membership, their legitimate trade union activities, or their use of trade union services. Can constitute dismissal, transfer, demotion, harassment and the like.

See Guide to the ITUC international trade union rights framework

.

Authorities encourage catastrophic proliferation of trade unions 31-12-2010

By encouraging the formation of hundreds of unions over a number of years, the authorities have considerably and purposely weakened the trade union movement. There are reported to be around 500 officially recognised trade unions in DR Congo, a situation that has been denounced by the most representative organisations and which they describe as probably the worst case of trade union proliferation in Africa. The authorities have persistently followed the principle of “divide and rule”, under the cover of promoting political pluralism. The creation of yellow and empty-shell unions has been encouraged by employers and the state. An ILO International Labour Organization A tripartite United Nations (UN) agency established in 1919 to promote working and living conditions. The main international body charged with developing and overseeing international labour standards.

See tripartism, ITUC Guide to international trade union rights
report published in 2010 confirmed these chaotic developments, deemed catastrophic for the trade union movement. It is a trend that has been driven by self interest, political ambition or misinformation about the real values and objectives of trade union pluralism. In most cases, the unions that have emerged are characterised by all-pervading corruption, and their existence has contributed the widespread violation of workers’ rights.

Unions virtually excluded in the private sector30-11-2009

The absence of bona fide trade unions is the rule in the private sector. Most trade unions have no active members and have usually been created by employers to dupe the workers and discourage any attempts at organising organising The process of forming or joining a trade union, or inducing other workers to form or join one. , notably in the mining of natural resources. Human rights associations have reported many cases of Labour Code violations in enterprises where the trade union movement is unable to develop, such as the China Railway Engineering Corporation (CREC) which, under the terms of a bilateral agreement between China and Congo, is building or restoring roads and railways. The African Association for the Defence of Human Rights (ASADHO) has highlighted the powerlessness and fear of the labour inspectors who dare not take action against these investors who are so clearly favoured by the authorities. The General Industrial Company (SGI) in Kasangulu has also been singled out for the deplorable working conditions there. On 29 September Golden Misabiko, the president of the Katanga branch of ASADHO, was given a one year suspended sentence for reporting abuses of power and negligence by the local authorities in the uranium mines.

Discrimination against local government workers30-11-2009

The staff of decentralised administrations (towns, regions and sectors) are not unionised and do not enjoy the right to bargain or establish a union. They are on the lowest rung of the state administration ladder and, in practice, constitute a sub-category of public servants.

Refusal to negotiate in the public sector30-11-2009

As an employer, the State has often refused to negotiate with the trade unions. The public sector workers’ union has complained of manoeuvres by the Civil Service Ministry to block reforms. The State has ignored resolutions by the Permanent Social Dialogue social dialogue Discussion and co-operation between the social partners on matters of common interest, such as economic and social policy. Involves participation by the state where tripartism is practice. Framework, a structure set up in 2008. Complaints and appeals by the union have been in vain. In September, for example, the Congo Labour Centre (CCT) lodged a complaint against the government with the ILO International Labour Organization A tripartite United Nations (UN) agency established in 1919 to promote working and living conditions. The main international body charged with developing and overseeing international labour standards.

See tripartism, ITUC Guide to international trade union rights
because following a serious case of interference by the director of Congo Customs dating back to 2005 (the dismissal of trade union activists and the appointment of a new staff delegate), the director concerned has never been called on to answer the charges.

© ITUC-CSI-IGB 2013 | www.ituc-csi.org | Contact Design by Pixeleyes.be - maps: jVectorMap