3 – Regelmäßige Rechtsverletzungen
Der Globale Rechtsindex des IGB

Ghana

Die Mitgliedsorganisationen des IGB in Ghana sind die Ghana Federation of Labour (GFL) und der Ghana Trades Union Congress (GTUC).

Praxis

Browse by:

Staatliche Gasgesellschaft entlässt 13 Beschäftigte und suspendiert 32 wegen eines Streiks26-09-2016

Die Ghana National Gas Company hat am 26. September 2016 13 Beschäftigte entlassen und 32 suspendiert, weil sie sich an einem vom Ortsverband der Gewerkschaft GTPCWU (General Transport, Petroleum and Chemical Workers’ Union) organisierten Streik Streik Die gängigste Form einer Arbeitskampfmaßnahme; eine kollektive Arbeitsniederlegung der Beschäftigten für eine bestimmte Zeit; kann vielfältige Formen annehmen.

vgl. Generalstreik, unterbrochener Streik, rollierender Streik, Sitzstreik, Sympathiestreik, wilder Streik, Bummelstreik
aus Protest gegen die schlechten Arbeitsbedingungen und den unzureichenden Arbeitsschutz bei der Gesellschaft beteiligt hatten. Nur wenige Tage vor den Entlassungen und Suspendierungen, am 14. September, hatte sich die Gesellschaft bei einem Treffen mit dem Arbeitsministerium allerdings noch dazu verpflichtet, auf diskriminierende Maßnahmen gegnüber protestierenden Beschäftigten zu verzichten.

Beschäftigte bei Mantrac Ghana müssen weiterhin gelber Gewerkschaft angehören14-12-2016

Im August 2016 hat die Betriebsleitung von Mantrac Ghana schätzungsweise 70 Beschäftigte entlassen, weil sie aus der Gewerkschaft Industrial and Commercial Workers Union (ICU) aus- und der Ghana Mine Workers Union (GMWU) beigetreten waren. Nach ihrer Entlassung konnten sich die Beschäftigten nur dann erneut um ihre früheren Arbeitsplätze bewerben, wenn sie sich schriftlich dazu verpflichteten, sechs Monate lang nicht zu streiken. Mit der Frage befasste sich schließlich die Nationale Arbeitskommission, die am 14. Dezember 2016 entschied, dass die Beschäftigten ihre ICU-Austrittsschreiben erneut einreichen sollten. Berichten zufolge soll die Betriebsleitung daraufhin mit einer weiteren Entlassungswelle gedroht haben.

Industrial & Commercial Workers’ Union (ICU) protestiert gegen Aussperrung und gewerkschaftsfeindliches Verhalten von Crown Holdings 11-02-2015

Am 27. Januar 2015 haben die Beschäftigten des Unternehmens Crown Cans Ghana Limited, das auf die Produktion von Metallverpackungen für die Lebensmittelindustrie spezialisiert ist, vor den Werktoren protestiert, da die Geschäftsführung sie ohne Vorankündigung ausgesperrt und lediglich eine Mitteilung angebracht hatte, auf der stand, dass der Betrieb bis auf Weiteres geschlossen sei.

Die Gewerkschaft Industrial and Commercial Workers’ Union (ICU) hatte bereits drei Jahre lang Schwierigkeiten in dem Betrieb gehabt und war auf harten Widerstand seitens der Geschäftsführung gestoßen. Als es der Gewerkschaft schließlich gelungen war, die Beschäftigten zu organisieren, wurden alle führenden Gewerkschaftsvertreter entlassen. Später weigerte sich Crown Cans, mit der ICU zu verhandeln und gab stattdessen die Schließung des Betriebes bekannt. Die Gewerkschaft schaltete daraufhin die Nationale Arbeitskommission ein, und Crown Cans musste mit den ICU-Vertretern verhandeln. Die Betriebsleitung teilte der Gewerkschaft schließlich mit, dass man zu Verhandlungen bereit sei, aber erst nach der Entfernung der Maschinen und Geräte aus dem Betrieb, was die ICU angesichts ihrer früheren schlechten Erfahrungen ablehnte. Nach dem Scheitern der Verhandlungen forderte die Nationale Arbeitskommission beide Parteien auf, Vermittler/Schlichter zu benennen, um einen Dialog zu ermöglichen. Dieser Aufforderung kam allerdings nur die ICU nach. Das Unternehmen weigerte sich, einen Vermittler zu benennen und ließ stattdessen die Maschinen und Geräte aus dem Betrieb entfernen.

Sentuo Steel verweigert seinen Beschäftigten das Vereinigungsrecht und beutet sie aus 12-03-2015

Das chinesische Stahlunternehmen Sentuo Steel verweigert seinen Beschäftigten das Recht auf eine Gewerkschaftsmitgliedschaft. Die Geschäftsführung hat zudem die Gewerkschaft getäuscht, die die betrieblichen Arbeitsbedingungen untersuchen wollte. Ihr wurde gesagt, dass die Person mit dem niedrigsten Lohn 1.500 GHS (345 EUR) erhalte, obwohl die Monatslöhne in Wirklichkeit lediglich bei 400 GHS (91 EUR) liegen. Die Löhne wurden seit drei Jahren nicht mehr erhöht, und auch einige unerlässliche Zulagen, wie etwa die Gefahrenzulage, wurden nicht ausgezahlt.

15 Beschäftigte wegen versuchten Gewerkschaftsbeitritts entlassen 16-02-2013

Fünfzehn Beschäftigte von Mobicrane Limited, eines Serviceunternehmens der Öl- und Gasindustrie in Takoradi, wurden entlassen, weil sie versucht haben sollen, der General Transport and Petroleum and Chemical Workers Union (GTPCWU) beizutreten, um an Verhandlungsstärke zu gewinnen und bessere Beschäftigungsbedingungen durchzusetzen.

Erdölarbeiter in Takoradi dürfen sich nicht gewerkschaftlich organisieren 19-08-2013

Die Mitglieder der General Transport, Petroleum and Chemical Workers Union (GTPCWU) in der Western Region werden von ausländischen Ölserviceunternehmen schikaniert und misshandelt.

Diese Unternehmen versuchen, eine gewerkschaftliche Organisierung Organisierung Der auf die Gründung von oder den Beitritt zu einer Gewerkschaft hinauslaufende Prozess bzw. Bemühungen darum, dass andere Beschäftigte eine Gewerkschaft gründen oder einer Gewerkschaft beitreten. ihrer Beschäftigten durch Einschüchterung und sogar Entlassungen zu verhindern.

Einige Unternehmen wie African Oil Field Services haben sich geweigert, ein Formular zu unterschreiben, das ihren Beschäftigten einen Gewerkschaftsbeitritt ermöglichen würde. Abraham Harrison Afful, einer der Arbeiterführer, der sich für die gewerkschaftliche Organisierung Organisierung Der auf die Gründung von oder den Beitritt zu einer Gewerkschaft hinauslaufende Prozess bzw. Bemühungen darum, dass andere Beschäftigte eine Gewerkschaft gründen oder einer Gewerkschaft beitreten. der Beschäftigten ausgesprochen hatte, wurde ohne triftigen Grund entlassen.

Kein Vereinigungsrecht für bestimmte Beschäftigte19-08-2013

Die Financial, Business and Services Employees Union (FBSEU) hat die Geschäftsordnung und Satzung ihres Ständigen Verhandlungsausschusses dem für den parlamentarischen Dienst zuständigen Gremium vorgelegt, das deren Eintragung jedoch mit dem Argument verweigerte, dass die Beschäftigten des parlamentarischen Dienstes nicht das Recht hätten, einer Gewerkschaft beizutreten. Die FBSEU hat daraufhin eine Petition bei der Nationalen Arbeitskommission eingereicht, die beide Parteien aufforderte, die Dokumente binnen 21 Tagen zu unterzeichnen. Das für den parlamentarischen Dienst zuständige Gremium ist dieser Aufforderung jedoch nicht gefolgt, woraufhin die Kommission ein Vollstreckungsverfahren vor dem Obersten Gerichtshof eingeleitet hat. Die Angelegenheit ist noch bei Gericht anhängig.

Diskriminierung von Gewerkschaftsmitgliedern und -funktionären05-06-2012

Jonas Koranteng-Smart von der Union of Industry, Commerce and Finance Workers (UNICOF), die dem Ghana Trades Union Congress angehört, wurde am 5. Juni 2012 entlassen, weil er gewerkschaftlich organisierten Personalmitgliedern eine E-Mail über die Diskussionen bei der 38. Jahreshauptversammlung der Merchant Bank Ghana geschickt hatte.

Fünfzehn Beschäftigte von Mobicrane Limited, einem Dienstleister der Öl- und Gasindustrie in Takoradi, wurden im Februar 2013 entlassen, weil sie versucht hatten, der General Transport and Petroleum and Chemical Workers Union beizutreten.

Anhaltende Rechtsverstöße in den FEZ31-12-2011
Arbeitgeber benutzen Gerichtsbeschluss, um die Rechte der Gewerkschaft zu untergraben31-12-2010

Obwohl die Vereinigungsfreiheit Vereinigungsfreiheit Das Recht auf die Gründung von und den Beitritt zu Gewerkschaften nach eigener Wahl sowie das Recht der Gewerkschaften, ungehindert zu arbeiten und ihre Aktivitäten ohne unzulässige Eingriffe zu verrichten.

vgl. IGB-Leitfaden für internationale Gewerkschaftsrechte
gesetzlich geschützt ist, wird sie in der Praxis von einem im Jahr 2008 vom Obersten Gerichtshof in Accra gefällten Beschluss betreffend die Ghana Telecommunications Limited (GT) untergraben, derzufolge es Arbeitgebern erlaubt ist, einzustellen und zu entlassen, ohne Gründe für die Beendigung eines Arbeitsverhältnisses angeben zu müssen. Kofi Asamoah, Generalsekretär des Ghana Trades Union Congress (GTUC), warnte bei der Kundgebung zum 1. Mai 2009 davor, dass einige Arbeitgeber diese Regelung dazu benutzten, so genannte Störenfriede unter den Arbeitern und Gewerkschaftern loszuwerden.

© ITUC-CSI-IGB 2013 | www.ituc-csi.org | Contact Design by Pixeleyes.be - maps: jVectorMap

3 – Regular violations of rights
The ITUC Global Rights Index

Ghana

The ITUC affiliates in Ghana are the Ghana Federation of Labour (GFL) and the Ghana Trades Union Congress (GTUC).

In practice

Browse by:

Thirteen workers of the Ghana National Gas Company dismissed, thirty-two suspended for engaging in a strike 26-09-2016

On 26 September 2016, 13 workers of the Ghana National Gas Company were dismissed and 32 were suspended for engaging in a strike strike The most common form of industrial action, a strike is a concerted stoppage of work by employees for a limited period of time. Can assume a wide variety of forms.

See general strike, intermittent strike, rotating strike, sit-down strike, sympathy strike, wildcat strike
organised by the local branch of the General Transport, Petroleum and Chemical Workers’ Union (GTPCWU) to protest against bad working conditions and insufficient occupational safety in the company. On 14 September, only a few days before these dismissals and suspensions occurred, the Company had pledged to avoid discriminatory behaviour against protesting workers during a meeting with the Ministry of Employment and Labour Relations, thus breaking its word shortly after.

Workers in Mantrac Ghana obliged to remain affiliated to yellow union14-12-2016

In August 2016, the management of Matrac Ghana dismissed around 70 workers because they withdrew from the Industrial and Commercial Workers Union (ICU) and affiliated to the Ghana Mine Workers Union (GMWU). Following the dismissal, the workers had the possibility to apply for their previous jobs only if they agreed to sign an obligation forbidding them to engage in a strike strike The most common form of industrial action, a strike is a concerted stoppage of work by employees for a limited period of time. Can assume a wide variety of forms.

See general strike, intermittent strike, rotating strike, sit-down strike, sympathy strike, wildcat strike
for a period of 6 months. The issue was addressed by the National Labour Commission, which on 14 December 2016 decided that the workers could re-submit their resignation letters from the ICU. The management reacted by threatening workers with another wave of dismissals.

Industrial & Commercial Workers’ Union (ICU) protested against the lock out and the anti-union behaviour of Crown Holdings Company.11-02-2015

On 27 January 2015, workers at Crown Cans Ghana Limited specialised in the manufacturing of metal packaging for the food industry staged a protest in front of the company gate. Management had, without any preliminary notice, closed the gate. The only information given was a piece of paper left at the gate saying “factory shut until further notice” and undersigned in smaller letters “management”.
For three years the Industrial and Commercial Workers’ Union (ICU) had encountered a number of difficulties in organising organising The process of forming or joining a trade union, or inducing other workers to form or join one. its activity in the factory, as well as tough resistance from management. When the union finally succeeded in organising organising The process of forming or joining a trade union, or inducing other workers to form or join one. workers, the company management in retaliation dismissed all the initial union executives. Later, Crown Cans refused to negotiate with the ICU and unilaterally announced the closure of the factory. The union submitted the case to the National Labour Commission (NLC) and as a result Crown Cans was forcedly instructed to negotiate with ICU representatives. Eventually Management, negotiating in bad faith, informed the union that they would have been ready to negotiate only after the removal of the machinery and equipment from the factory. Understandably – based on previous negative experiences – the ICU rejected the proposal. Following the failed negotiation NLC requested the two parties to select mediators/arbitrators to enable dialogue. Only the ICU complied with NLC’s request while the enterprise refused to name a mediator and instead brought cranes into the factory to remove the machinery and equipment.

Sentuo Steel denies its workers the right to freedom of association and exploits them 12-03-2015

Chinese Sentuo Steel Company denies its workers the right to associate and join trade unions. The company management has also misled the Labour union that tried to investigate on the conditions of work, granting that the person with the lowest salary at the company was being paid 1,500 Ghana GHS (345 EUR) while in reality the monthly wages are not higher than 400 GHS (91 EUR) per month. The management failed to increase the wages for the past three years and didn’t implement some essential bonuses and incentives such as risk allowance.

15 workers sacked for attempting to join a trade union16-02-2013

Fifteen workers at Mobicrane Limited, an oil and gas service provider based in Takoradi, have been dismissed for allegedly attempting to join the General Transport and Petroleum and Chemical Workers Union (GTPCWU) in order to gain bargaining power to negotiate with the company for better service conditions.

Takoradi petroleum workers denied access to unions19-08-2013

The members of the General Transport, Petroleum and Chemical Workers Union (GTPCWU) in the Western Region have been harassed and mistreated by foreign oil service companies.

These companies do not want their workers to unionise and are trying to prevent them from joining a trade union using intimidation and even dismissal.

Some companies like African Oil Field Services, have refused to sign a verification form to enable the workers in that company to join a trade union. Abraham Harrison Afful, one of the leaders of the workers, advocating for unionisation of the workers was dismissed without any tangible reasons.

Exclusion of workers from the right to join a union19-08-2013

The Financial, Business and Services Employees Union (FBSEU) submitted the rules and constitution of its Standing Negotiating Committee to the Parliamentary Service Board. The Parliamentary Service Board refused however to register the rules and constitution arguing that workers of the Parliamentary Service did not have the right to join a union. The FBSEU petitioned the National Labour Commission which then asked both parties to sign the rules within 21 days. The Parliamentary Service Board failed to comply with the order and hence the Commission filed an enforcement process in the High Court. The matter is before the courts.

Discrimination against union members and leaders05-06-2012

Jonas Koranteng-Smart from the Union of Industry, Commerce and Finance Workers (UNICOF) affiliated to the Ghana Trades Union Congress was dismissed on 5 June 2012 for sending an email to unionised staff about the discussions of the 38th Annual General Meeting of the Merchant Bank Ghana.

Fifteen workers at Mobicrane Limited, an oil and gas service provider based in Takoradi, were dismissed in February 2013 for attempting to join the General Transport and Petroleum and Chemical Workers Union.

Persistent violations in EPZ31-12-2011

Some employers in the export processing zones (EPZ export processing zone A special industrial area in a country where imported materials are processed before being re-exported. Designed to attract mostly foreign investors by offering incentives such as exemptions from certain trade barriers, taxes, business regulations, and/or labour laws. ) have persistently resisted the unionisation of their employees, despite the protection provided by the 2003 Labour Act. Blue Skies Products (Gh) Ltd (a subsidiary of Blue Skies Holdings UK), an EPZ export processing zone A special industrial area in a country where imported materials are processed before being re-exported. Designed to attract mostly foreign investors by offering incentives such as exemptions from certain trade barriers, taxes, business regulations, and/or labour laws. fruit processing company that employs over one thousand workers, has consistently refused to recognise its workers’ union the Food and Allied Workers Union (FAWU).

Employers use court decision to undermine trade union rights31-12-2010

Although freedom of association freedom of association The right to form and join the trade union of one’s choosing as well as the right of unions to operate freely and carry out their activities without undue interference.

See Guide to the ITUC international trade union rights framework
is protected in law, in practice this is undermined by a 2008 decision of the Accra High Court concerning Ghana Telecommunications Limited (GT) to the effect that employers could hire and fire without giving any reasons for the termination of employment. Mr Kofi Asamoah, secretary general of Ghana Trades Union Congress (TUC), warned at the 2009 May Day rally that some employers were using the ruling to get rid of so-called troublesome workers and unionists.

© ITUC-CSI-IGB 2013 | www.ituc-csi.org | Contact Design by Pixeleyes.be - maps: jVectorMap