4 – Violations systématiques des droits
L’indice CSI des droits dans le monde

Île Maurice

Les organisations affiliées à la CSI à l’île Maurice sont le Mauritius Labour Congress (Confédération du travail mauricienne – MLC), le Mauritius Trade Union Congress (Confédération des syndicats mauriciens – MTUC) et la National Trade Unions Confederation (Confédération nationale des syndicats – NTUC).

En pratique

Classer par:

Interdiction d’une manifestation et entrave à la liberté syndicale dans les hôtels30-09-2015

Le 25 septembre, une manifestation de travailleurs de Lux Resorts n’a pu se tenir devant les bureaux du groupe hôtelier à Floréal, la police demandant au dernier moment à la Fédération des travailleurs unis (FTU) un certain document officiel, alors qu’elle avait quelques heures plus tôt donné son accord écrit. Lors de la conférence de presse organisée quelques jours plus tôt pour annoncer cette manifestation, Atma Shanto, porte-parole de la FTU avait déploré les actes d’intimidation et de répression commis par les patrons envers leurs salariés, particulièrement lorsque ceux-ci cherchaient à s’organiser en syndicat ou lorsqu’ils dénonçaient leurs mauvaises conditions de travail à leur représentation syndicale. En juillet, la FTU avait déjà apporté son appui aux travailleurs du secteur hôtelier en critiquant la multiplication des caméras de surveillance, surtout dans les hôtels et qui serviraient de plus en plus, selon elle, à épier les salariés et le cas échéant, à les punir. Les employeurs cibleraient en premier lieu les travailleurs qui tentent de s’organiser et les réunions syndicales. Déjà en 2014, la FTU avait dénoncé les manoeuvres d’un employeur dans ce secteur, le Crystal Beach Resort & Spa, pour empêcher la création d’un syndicat. Ce cas a fait l’objet d’une plainte au Comité de la liberté syndicale du BIT.

Accord collectif torpillé dans le secteur de l’aviation31-05-2015

Dans une plainte adressée en mai au BIT, la Confédération des travailleurs du secteur privé (CTSP) a dénoncé la stratégie de la compagnie Air Mauritius consistant à recruter son personnel à travers Airmate Ltd, une filiale, pour contourner les accords conclus avec les syndicats. De la sorte, l’employeur a discriminé les 800 travailleurs d’Airmate Ltd dont les salaires n’ont plus à être déterminés par ces accords collectifs mais seulement par la réglementation nationale en matière de revenu minimal. À travail égal, les salariés officiellement employés par Airmate Ltd sont payés trois fois moins que leurs collègues d’Air Mauritius. Selon la CTSP, il s’agit là d’une violation de la convention n°98 de l’OIT Organisation internationale du travail Structure tripartite créée par les Nations Unies (ONU) en 1919 pour promouvoir de bonnes conditions de vie et de travail. Principale instance internationale chargée de développer et de contrôler les normes internationales du travail.

Voir tripartisme, Guide des droits syndicaux internationaux de la CSI
sur le droit d’organisation organisation Processus consistant à former ou à s’affilier à un syndicat ou à inciter d’autres travailleurs à former ou à s’affilier à un syndicat. et de négociation collective négociation collective Processus de négociation de conditions de travail acceptables pour les deux parties et de réglementation des relations sociales entre un ou plusieurs représentants des travailleurs, des syndicats ou des centrales syndicales d’un côté et un employeur, un groupe d’employeurs ou une ou plusieurs organisations patronales de l’autre.

Voir convention collective
. En procédant de la sorte, Air Mauritius a montré la voie aux employeurs pour contourner et miner les négociations collectives.

Menaces de représailles suite à une action de grève08-09-2014

Le 8 septembre 2014, le secrétaire général du syndicat des transports National Transport Corporation Employees Union, Krishnaduth Gobin, a été convoqué pour faire rapport auprès de la Division d’enquête centrale à Vacoas. Le syndicat faisait apparemment l’objet de poursuites suite à une grève grève Forme d’action collective la plus répandue, la grève désigne un arrêt de travail concerté sur une période limitée et peut revêtir de nombreuses formes.

Voir grève générale, grève intermittente, grève tournante, grève d’occupation, grève de solidarité, grève sauvage
qu’il avait organisée plus d’un an auparavant, le 26 juin 2013. Bien que la grève grève Forme d’action collective la plus répandue, la grève désigne un arrêt de travail concerté sur une période limitée et peut revêtir de nombreuses formes.

Voir grève générale, grève intermittente, grève tournante, grève d’occupation, grève de solidarité, grève sauvage
ait conduit à des négociations et à un accord, les autorités avaient manifestement décidé de déclarer la grève grève Forme d’action collective la plus répandue, la grève désigne un arrêt de travail concerté sur une période limitée et peut revêtir de nombreuses formes.

Voir grève générale, grève intermittente, grève tournante, grève d’occupation, grève de solidarité, grève sauvage
illégale. La convocation pourrait simplement avoir été une tactique d’intimidation ; elle a, toutefois, été adressée alors que le syndicat Union of Bus Industry Workers annonçait qu’il organisait un vote pour décider de lancer une autre grève grève Forme d’action collective la plus répandue, la grève désigne un arrêt de travail concerté sur une période limitée et peut revêtir de nombreuses formes.

Voir grève générale, grève intermittente, grève tournante, grève d’occupation, grève de solidarité, grève sauvage
générale afin de contraindre le gouvernement à rendre publiques les recommandations

Refus de négocier de bonne foi30-04-2012

En avril 2012, l’Association des producteurs de sucre de Maurice (MSPA) a refusé de négocier les conditions de travail dans l’industrie sucrière avec l’équipe syndicale de négociation commune. Dans une lettre envoyée à l’équipe et datée du 13 mars 2012, le directeur de la MSPA a expliqué que la demande d’ouvrir des négociations sur l’introduction d’une indemnité entrant dans le calcul de la pension (de 2.000 roupies mauriciennes, soit environ 50 euros) et la création d’un Fonds pour la dignité humaine devait être abordée au niveau des entreprises.

Le 26 janvier 2013, le Mauritius Institute for Training and Development Employees Union (MITDEU) a protesté contre la suspension de son président. L’organisation organisation Processus consistant à former ou à s’affilier à un syndicat ou à inciter d’autres travailleurs à former ou à s’affilier à un syndicat. remettait en cause la légalité de la suspension qu’elle estimait injustifiée puisque l’Institut de formation et de développement n’avait même pas de directeur ou de Conseil et que le comité disciplinaire qui avait pris la décision était donc illégal.

Discrimination antisyndicale21-08-2013

Le contrat d’emploi de 37 travailleuses du Centre La Colombe a été modifié après qu’elles ont rejoint un syndicat. Les modifications comprenaient le retrait du droit à un congé payé annuel et au paiement des heures supplémentaires, ainsi que des changements des horaires de travail.

Taux élevé de licenciements de représentants syndicaux dans le secteur privé31-12-2011

La Fédération des travailleurs unis (FTU) a organisé une manifestation devant le ministère du Travail, le 23 septembre, pour protester contre ce que son secrétaire général Atma Shanto décrit comme un taux « alarmant » de licenciements de représentants syndicaux dans le secteur privé. Les chiffres publiés par le ministère ont révélé le licenciement de 8.000 représentants syndicaux entre 2008 et 2011.

La représentation syndicale dans le secteur privé a connu un déclin progressif, au point que l’industrie sucrière reste la seule à être dotée de syndicats structurés et de militants de base actifs. L’avenir des syndicats n’est toutefois pas assuré, même dans l’industrie sucrière. En vertu de la loi sur les relations de l’emploi, un employeur peut annuler la reconnaissance reconnaissance Désignation d’un syndicat par un organisme gouvernemental comme agent négociateur représentant les travailleurs au sein d’une unité de négociation, ou fait pour la direction d’accepter que ses travailleurs puissent être représentés collectivement par un syndicat. de tout syndicat représentant moins de 30% de l’effectif - certains syndicats de l’industrie sucrière n’atteignent pas ce seuil.

Zones franches d’exportation31-12-2010

Les employeurs des zones franches d’exportation (ZFE) restent hostiles à l’égard des syndicats. Ceux-ci ont beaucoup de mal à aller à la rencontre des travailleurs/euses étant donné qu’il leur est généralement interdit d’accéder aux sites industriels. Il en résulte que le taux d’affiliation syndicale dans les ZFE est inférieur à 12%. L’OIT Organisation internationale du travail Structure tripartite créée par les Nations Unies (ONU) en 1919 pour promouvoir de bonnes conditions de vie et de travail. Principale instance internationale chargée de développer et de contrôler les normes internationales du travail.

Voir tripartisme, Guide des droits syndicaux internationaux de la CSI
a constamment insisté sur l’importance d’une protection accrue contre les actes d’ingérence par les employeurs et les organisations des employeurs dans les activités des syndicats et la nécessité de prévoir des procédures d’appel rapides et des sanctions suffisamment dissuasives à telle fin. La Commission d’experts pour l’application des conventions et recommandations de l’OIT Organisation internationale du travail Structure tripartite créée par les Nations Unies (ONU) en 1919 pour promouvoir de bonnes conditions de vie et de travail. Principale instance internationale chargée de développer et de contrôler les normes internationales du travail.

Voir tripartisme, Guide des droits syndicaux internationaux de la CSI
(CEACR) a appelé instamment le gouvernement à prendre les mesures qui s’imposent pour promouvoir la négociation collective négociation collective Processus de négociation de conditions de travail acceptables pour les deux parties et de réglementation des relations sociales entre un ou plusieurs représentants des travailleurs, des syndicats ou des centrales syndicales d’un côté et un employeur, un groupe d’employeurs ou une ou plusieurs organisations patronales de l’autre.

Voir convention collective
dans tous les domaines de l’activité économique.

Travailleurs/euses migrant(e)s31-12-2010

Les travailleurs/euses migrant(e)s sont particulièrement affectés par les violations des droits syndicaux. Quand ces travailleurs se mettent en grève grève Forme d’action collective la plus répandue, la grève désigne un arrêt de travail concerté sur une période limitée et peut revêtir de nombreuses formes.

Voir grève générale, grève intermittente, grève tournante, grève d’occupation, grève de solidarité, grève sauvage
, la réponse coordonnée des employeurs et des autorités consiste le plus souvent à les expulser vers leurs pays d’origine au motif de « rupture de contrat » et de « grève grève Forme d’action collective la plus répandue, la grève désigne un arrêt de travail concerté sur une période limitée et peut revêtir de nombreuses formes.

Voir grève générale, grève intermittente, grève tournante, grève d’occupation, grève de solidarité, grève sauvage
illégale ». Beaucoup de migrants sont employés en vertu de contrats temporaires, notamment dans les plantations de canne à sucre et l’industrie du textile, et ne sont pas autorisés à s’organiser dans la pratique. Les conditions de travail des migrants bangladais à Maurice ont été comparées à de l’esclavage des temps modernes. La Commission d’experts pour l’application des conventions et recommandations de l’OIT Organisation internationale du travail Structure tripartite créée par les Nations Unies (ONU) en 1919 pour promouvoir de bonnes conditions de vie et de travail. Principale instance internationale chargée de développer et de contrôler les normes internationales du travail.

Voir tripartisme, Guide des droits syndicaux internationaux de la CSI
(CEACR) a invité le gouvernement à rendre compte des mesures prises pour garantir les droits syndicaux des travailleurs/euses migrant(e)s, tant dans la loi que dans la pratique.

© ITUC-CSI-IGB 2013 | www.ituc-csi.org | Contact Design by Pixeleyes.be - maps: jVectorMap

3 – Regular violations of rights
The ITUC Global Rights Index

Mauritius

The ITUC affiliates in Mauritius are the Mauritius Labour Congress (MLC), the Mauritius Trade Union Congress (MTUC) and the National Trade Unions Confederation (NTUC).

In practice

Browse by:

Management of Rose-Hill Transport Corporation and National Transport Corporation fail to consult unions 20-04-2017

The Union of Bus Industry Workers (UBIW) is concerned about a new reform that might endanger the jobs of many of its workers. The National Transport Authority (NTA) has announced that a magnetic card is being considered for introduction in the near future to replace the conventional bus ticket. The reform would cover both the Rose Hill Transport Corporation and the National Transport Corporation. The management of neither company, however, has consulted UBIW. The change might affect the jobs of as many as 3,000 bus conductors and complicate the work of other categories of workers, including bus drivers.

Workers protest against deteriorating labour rights 05-02-2017

More than a hundred workers took part in a march through the streets of Rose-Hill to call on the Government to address deteriorating labour rights. The march was organised by the Confederation of Private Sector Workers (CTSP) and the Construction Metal Wooden & Employees Union (CMWU) to raise awareness of the negative effect of two legal acts enacted in 2009 - the Employment Rights Act (ERiA) and the Employment Relations Act (EReA). These acts diminished employment security, pension rights and the protection of workers over 50 in cases of retrenchment.

Demonstration prohibited and freedom of association fettered in hotels30-09-2015

On 25 September, Lux Resorts workers were prevented from demonstrating in front of the hotel group’s offices in Floréal when the police made a last minute request for an official document from the Fédération des Travailleurs Unis (FTU), after having given written authorisation just hours before. During the press conference, held a few days prior, to announce the demonstration, Atma Shanto, spokesperson for the FTU, condemned the bosses’ intimidation and repression of their workers, especially those trying to form a trade union or denouncing poor working conditions to their union representatives. In July, the FTU had already given its backing to the workers in the hotel sector by criticising the increased use of surveillance cameras, especially in hotels, which are reportedly being used to spy on workers and, potentially, to take punitive measures against them. Employers are primarily targeting trade union meetings and workers trying to organise. Already in 2014, the FTU had denounced the tactics being deployed at Crystal Beach Resort & Spa to prevent the formation of a trade union. The case was reported to the ILO International Labour Organization A tripartite United Nations (UN) agency established in 1919 to promote working and living conditions. The main international body charged with developing and overseeing international labour standards.

See tripartism, ITUC Guide to international trade union rights
Committee on Freedom of Association freedom of association The right to form and join the trade union of one’s choosing as well as the right of unions to operate freely and carry out their activities without undue interference.

See Guide to the ITUC international trade union rights framework
.

Collective agreement undermined in aviation industry31-05-2015

In a complaint addressed to the ILO International Labour Organization A tripartite United Nations (UN) agency established in 1919 to promote working and living conditions. The main international body charged with developing and overseeing international labour standards.

See tripartism, ITUC Guide to international trade union rights
in May, the Confédération des Travailleurs du Secteur Privé (CTSP) denounced Air Mauritius’ strategy of hiring staff through Airmate Ltd, a subsidiary, in order to circumvent the agreements concluded with the unions. The employer, by so doing, has discriminated against 800 Airmate Ltd employees, whose wages no longer have to be set in line with these collective agreements but, rather, with the national minimum wage regulations. The workers officially employed by Airmate Ltd are paid three times less than their colleagues at Air Mauritius for work of equal value. According to the CTSP, this constitutes a violation of Convention 98 on the Right to Organise and Collective Bargaining collective bargaining The process of negotiating mutually acceptable terms and conditions of employment as well as regulating industrial relations between one or more workers’ representatives, trade unions, or trade union centres on the one hand and an employer, a group of employers or one or more employers’ organisations on the other.

See collective bargaining agreement
. By acting in this way, Air Mauritius is showing other employers how to circumvent and undermine collective bargaining collective bargaining The process of negotiating mutually acceptable terms and conditions of employment as well as regulating industrial relations between one or more workers’ representatives, trade unions, or trade union centres on the one hand and an employer, a group of employers or one or more employers’ organisations on the other.

See collective bargaining agreement
. s.

Threat of reprisals for strike action08-09-2014

On 8 September 2014 the general secretary of the National Transport Corporation Employees Union, Krishnaduth Gobin, was asked to report to the Central Investigation Division in Vacoas. The union was apparently facing possible prosecution over a strike strike The most common form of industrial action, a strike is a concerted stoppage of work by employees for a limited period of time. Can assume a wide variety of forms.

See general strike, intermittent strike, rotating strike, sit-down strike, sympathy strike, wildcat strike
it had organised more than a year earlier, on 26 June 2013. Although the strike strike The most common form of industrial action, a strike is a concerted stoppage of work by employees for a limited period of time. Can assume a wide variety of forms.

See general strike, intermittent strike, rotating strike, sit-down strike, sympathy strike, wildcat strike
had resulted in negotiations and an agreement, the authorities had apparently decided the strike strike The most common form of industrial action, a strike is a concerted stoppage of work by employees for a limited period of time. Can assume a wide variety of forms.

See general strike, intermittent strike, rotating strike, sit-down strike, sympathy strike, wildcat strike
was illegal. The summons may merely have been a scare tactic; however, it came as the Union of Bus Industry Workers announced it was organising organising The process of forming or joining a trade union, or inducing other workers to form or join one. a vote to decide whether to hold another general strike strike The most common form of industrial action, a strike is a concerted stoppage of work by employees for a limited period of time. Can assume a wide variety of forms.

See general strike, intermittent strike, rotating strike, sit-down strike, sympathy strike, wildcat strike
to compel the government to release the salary recommendations of the National Renumeration Board.

Refusal to bargain in good faith30-04-2012

In April 2012, the Mauritius Sugar Producers’ Association (MSPA) refused to negotiate with the trade unions’ Joint Negotiating Panel (JNP) on working conditions in the sugar industry. In a letter sent to the JNP on 13 March 2012, the Director of the MSPA argued that the request to open negotiations on the introduction of a pensionable allowance (of 2,000 Mauritian Rupees, i.e. about 50 EUR) and the creation of a Human Dignity Fund should be decided at company level.

On 29 January 2013, the Mauritius Institute for Training and Development Employees Union (MITDEU) protested against the suspension of its President. The MITDEU challenged the legality of the suspension which they considered unjustified, arguing that the Mauritius Institute for Training and Development did not even have a director or a board, and that the disciplinary committee that took the decision was therefore unlawful.

Anti-union discrimination21-08-2013

The employment contracts of 37 female workers at the La Colombe Centre were amended after they joined a union. The amendments included the withdrawal of the right to paid annual leave, overtime pay and work schedule changes.

High level of dismissals of union representatives in the private sector31-12-2011

The Federation of United Workers (Fédération des Travailleurs Unis - FTU) held a demonstration outside the Labour Ministry on 23 September to protest at what its General Secretary Atma Shanto described as an “alarming” rate of dismissals of trade union representatives in the private sector. Figures released by the Ministry showed that 8,000 trade union representatives had been dismissed between 2008 and 2011.

The trade union presence in the private sector has steadily dwindled, leaving only the sugar industry with structured unions and active grass roots militants. Even the sugar industry unions may be at risk. Under the Employment Relations Act, employers can withdraw recognition recognition The designation by a government agency of a union as the bargaining agent for workers in a given bargaining unit, or acceptance by an employer that its employees can be collectively represented by a union. from any union that represents less than 30% of the workforce - some unions in the sugar industry do not meet this target.

Export processing zones31-12-2010

Employers in the export processing zones (EPZ export processing zone A special industrial area in a country where imported materials are processed before being re-exported. Designed to attract mostly foreign investors by offering incentives such as exemptions from certain trade barriers, taxes, business regulations, and/or labour laws. s) remain hostile to the unions, who find it very difficult to approach the workers given that, in most cases, trade unionists are denied access to the industrial sites. As a result, union membership levels in the EPZ export processing zone A special industrial area in a country where imported materials are processed before being re-exported. Designed to attract mostly foreign investors by offering incentives such as exemptions from certain trade barriers, taxes, business regulations, and/or labour laws. s are below 12%. The ILO International Labour Organization A tripartite United Nations (UN) agency established in 1919 to promote working and living conditions. The main international body charged with developing and overseeing international labour standards.

See tripartism, ITUC Guide to international trade union rights
has consistently highlighted the need for greater protection against acts of interference by employers and employer organisations in the activities of trade unions and the need for rapid appeals procedures and sufficiently dissuasive sanctions in this regard. The ILO International Labour Organization A tripartite United Nations (UN) agency established in 1919 to promote working and living conditions. The main international body charged with developing and overseeing international labour standards.

See tripartism, ITUC Guide to international trade union rights
’s Committee of Experts on the Application of Conventions and Recommendations (CEACR) has urged the government to take measures for the promotion of collective bargaining collective bargaining The process of negotiating mutually acceptable terms and conditions of employment as well as regulating industrial relations between one or more workers’ representatives, trade unions, or trade union centres on the one hand and an employer, a group of employers or one or more employers’ organisations on the other.

See collective bargaining agreement
in all areas of economic activity.

Migrant workers31-12-2010

Migrant workers are particularly vulnerable to trade union rights’ violations. When these workers go on strike strike The most common form of industrial action, a strike is a concerted stoppage of work by employees for a limited period of time. Can assume a wide variety of forms.

See general strike, intermittent strike, rotating strike, sit-down strike, sympathy strike, wildcat strike
, the coordinated response of the employers and the authorities is often to send them back to their country of origin on the grounds of “breach of contract” and “illegal strike strike The most common form of industrial action, a strike is a concerted stoppage of work by employees for a limited period of time. Can assume a wide variety of forms.

See general strike, intermittent strike, rotating strike, sit-down strike, sympathy strike, wildcat strike
”. Many migrants are employed on short-term contracts, particularly in the sugar plantations and textile industry, and in practice they cannot organise. The working conditions of Bangladeshi migrants in Mauritius have been described as being akin to modern slavery. The ILO International Labour Organization A tripartite United Nations (UN) agency established in 1919 to promote working and living conditions. The main international body charged with developing and overseeing international labour standards.

See tripartism, ITUC Guide to international trade union rights
’s Committee of Experts on the Application of Conventions and Recommendations (CEACR) has asked the government to indicate the measures taken to guarantee migrant workers their trade union rights, both in law and in practice.

© ITUC-CSI-IGB 2013 | www.ituc-csi.org | Contact Design by Pixeleyes.be - maps: jVectorMap