2 – Wiederholte Rechtsverletzungen
Der Globale Rechtsindex des IGB

Lettland

Die Mitgliedsorganisation des IGB in Lettland ist der Gewerkschaftsbund LBAS.

Praxis

Browse by:

Lettland verabschiedet neues Gesetz zur Begrenzung der Redefreiheit 21-04-2016

Am 21. April 2016 wurde ein neuer Gesetzentwurf in zweiter Lesung verabschiedet, mit dem verschiedene Änderungen an den Bestimmungen bezüglich „Verbrechen gegen den Staat“ vorgenommen werden. Die lettischen Abgeordneten hielten diese Änderungen dringend genug für ein Eilverfahren mit zwei, anstatt drei Lesungen.

Das Gesetz sieht die Bestrafung von Personen vor, die der Unabhängigkeit, der Souveränität oder der territorialen Einheit Lettlands schaden oder zum Sturz der Staatsgewalt aufrufen, und es ist sehr wahrscheinlich, dass die Redefreiheit dadurch gefährdet wird. Sicherheitsexperten hielten es dennoch für eine notwendige Maßnahme im „Informationskrieg“ mit Russland. Die Politiker und Experten, die den Gesetzentwurf vorbereitet haben, befürchteten in der Tat, dass Propagandisten über konventionelle und soziale Medien sowie durch Veranstaltungen wie Jugendlager ethnische Spannungen und separatistische Bestrebungen in Lettland schüren könnten, wie in der Ostukraine bereits geschehen. Vor diesem Hintergrund hatten sich die lettischen Abgeordneten für das Eilverfahren entschieden. Nach der ersten Lesung am 3. März war es zu kleineren Protesten gegen den Gesetzentwurf gekommen. Menschenrechtsanwältin Elizabete Krivcova: „Aufgrund des Drucks der Zivilgesellschaft und der Presse haben die Autoren einer Änderung des Entwurfs zugestimmt, aber eine breite Diskussion darüber lehnen sie ab.“

Missachtung eines Tarifvertrages30-04-2012

Im April 2012 hat die lettische Post- und Telekommunikationsgewerkschaft LSAB einen Vertreter in den Vorstand des privaten Pensionsfonds gewählt, wie in Absatz 109 des Tarifvertrages zwischen der LSAB und Lattelecom vorgesehen. Bei einer Versammlung der Anteilseigner des JSC „First Closed Pension Fund" am 24. Mai 2012 ernannte Lattelecom jedoch zwei Arbeitgebervertreter, womit der LSAB-Vertreter von einer weiteren Mitwirkung im Vorstand ausgeschlossen wurde.

Einschüchterung von Gewerkschaftsmitgliedern14-03-2014

Der Luftnavigationsdienstleister SJSC „Latvian Air Traffic“ rief mehrere Fluglotsen in kleinen Gruppen zur Geschäftsführung und befragte sie einzeln nach ihrer Mitgliedschaft bei der Gewerkschaft und ob sie mit der von der Gewerkschaftsvorsitzenden Ausra Straume unterzeichneten Beschwerde einverstanden seien, die beim Verkehrsminister erhoben worden war.

Gewerkschaftsfeindliche Diskriminierung und Missachtung eines Tarifvertrages30-09-2012

Hafenverwalter in Liepāja entließen, nachdem sie vergeblich versucht hatten, den geltenden Tarifvertrag Tarifvertrag Eine gewöhnlich schriftliche Vereinbarung, die die Ergebnisse von Kollektiv-/Tarifverhandlungen zwischen Arbeitnehmer- und Arbeitgebervertretern enthält.

vgl. Kollektiv-/Tarifverhandlungen
durch die erzwungene Durchsetzung unterschiedlicher Lohnniveaus zu untergraben, zehn Mitglieder der Personalvereinigung des Hafens von Liepāja und beschuldigten sie des Diebstahls. Laut lettischem Arbeitsgesetz kann ein Gewerkschaftsmitglied jedoch nicht ohne die vorherige Zustimmung der Gewerkschaft entlassen werden. Bis September 2012 hatte ein Gericht sieben Anträge des Arbeitgebers auf die Entlassung der Beschäftigten zurückgewiesen und eine Suspendierung für illegal befunden.

Tarifverhandlungen behindert31-12-2010

Das neue Gesetz „zur Vergütung der Beamten und Angestellten staatlicher und lokaler Regierungsinstitutionen“ führte zu Problemen für die Verhandlungsführer bei Tarifverhandlungen im öffentlichen Sektor, denn das Gesetz ächtet alle Arten von tarifvertraglich ausgehandelten finanziellen Zuschüssen, es sei denn, sie sind gesetzlich vereinbart. Außerdem weigern sich einige der öffentlichen Arbeitgeber, an Tarifverhandlungen teilzunehmen.

Harsches Wirtschaftsklima führt dazu, dass gewerkschaftsfeindliche Aktivitäten nicht gemeldet werden31-12-2010

Inoffiziell gab es eine Vielzahl von Hinweisen auf gewerkschaftsfeindliche Propaganda von Seiten der Arbeitgeber, außerdem auf Fälle von Entlassungen und Herabstufungen oder Versetzungen sowohl von Aktivisten, die planten in ihrem Unternehmen eine Gewerkschaft zu etablieren, als auch von Vertretern existierender Gewerkschaften mit dem Zweck, die Aktivitäten der Gewerkschaft zu unterbinden. In diesen Fällen gibt es jedoch keine offiziellen Beweise und die Entlassungen oder Versetzungen von Beschäftigten werden immer durch Gegenbeweise gestützt, welche die Schuld des Arbeitnehmers demonstrieren. Beim derzeitigen wirtschaftlichen Klima und der hohen Erwerbslosenzahl ziehen die Arbeitnehmer es oft vor zu schweigen, um ihre Arbeitsstellen nicht zu gefährden. Solche Fälle wurden hauptsächlich in Ortsverbänden der Gewerkschaften in den Branchen Holzverarbeitung, zivile Luftfahrt und Industrie gemeldet.

Multinationale Unternehmen scheuen Tarifverhandlungen 30-11-2009

Nach Schätzungen des lettischen Gewerkschaftsverbands LBAS gibt es auf dem privaten Sektor in multinationalen Unternehmen weniger Tarifverträge als in andern Unternehmen. Ausländische Unternehmen im Allgemeinen und multinationale Unternehmen im Besonderen versuchen, die Anwendung von Tarifverträgen auf ihre lettischen Niederlassungen zu umgehen. Handel, Banken und Personaldienstleister sind hierbei die am stärksten betroffenen Branchen. Andererseits, so berichtet der LBAS, ist die Beachtung von Tarifverträgen, wenn sie denn einmal abgeschlossen wurden, bei multinationalen Unternehmen in höherem Maß gesichert als bei anderen Unternehmen.

© ITUC-CSI-IGB 2013 | www.ituc-csi.org | Contact Design by Pixeleyes.be - maps: jVectorMap

2 – Repeated violations of rights
The ITUC Global Rights Index

Latvia

The ITUC affiliate in Latvia is the Free Trade Union Confederation of Latvia (LBAS).

In practice

Browse by:

Latvia approves a new law limiting freedom of speech21-04-2016

On 21 April 2016, a new bill was approved at its second reading. It consists of several amendments to provisions on crimes against the state. Latvian MPs considered these revisions urgent enough to have opted for a fast-track legislative procedure of two readings instead of three.
The bill punishes individuals who are considered to be acting against Latvian independence, sovereignty, territorial unity, or who call for the overthrow of state power and is very likely to jeopardise freedom of speech. Nevertheless, security experts considered it a necessary measure in the “information war” with Russia. In fact, the fear of those politicians and experts that prepared the bill is that through the use of conventional and social media, as well as events such as youth camps, propagandists could fuel ethnic tensions and separatist movements in Latvia, as has happened in eastern Ukraine. In this regard, Latvian MPs considered these revisions urgent enough to have opted for a fast-track legislative procedure of two readings instead of three. Small protests have taken place against the proposed bill after the act passed the first reading on 3 March. Human rights lawyer Elizabete Krivcova stated: “Because of the pressure from the civil society and press, the authors agreed to change the proposal. However, they refuse any broad discussion on it.”

Violation of collective agreement30-04-2012

In April 2012, the Latvian Post and Telecommunications Workers’ Trade Union (LSAB) elected a representative to the board of the private pension fund as agreed in paragraph 109 of the collective agreement between LSAB and Lattelcom. However, during the meeting of JSC “First Closed Pension Fund” stakeholders on 24 May 2012, Lattelecom nominated two employer representatives. The LSAB representative was thus excluded from further board participation.

Intimidation of trade union members by the employer14-03-2014

Aero navigational service provider SJSC “Latvian Air Traffic” - invited air traffic controllers in small groups to the management office and asked each of them about his or her membership in the trade union, and whether he or she agrees with the complaint previously addressed and sent to the Minister for Transport signed by the trade union chairperson Mrs. Ausra Straume.

In March 2012, Ausra Straume was suspended from her air traffic controller duties and was prohibited from entering and residing at the premises of SJSC “Latvian Air Traffic”. Disciplinary investigations against her did not reveal any infringements of labour discipline. She was suspended for three months and was restricted in carrying out her functions as chairperson of the Latvian Air Traffic Controller’s Trade Union as she had limited access to the union premises. On 13 March 2012 the employer issued an order prohibiting A. Straume from entering the company premises without special permission from the employer.

She filed a complaint to demand reinstatement. On 14 March 2014, the Supreme Court ruled that Ausra Straume did not have the right to complain about working conditions. The unions have now taken this issue to the President as the right to freedom of association freedom of association The right to form and join the trade union of one’s choosing as well as the right of unions to operate freely and carry out their activities without undue interference.

See Guide to the ITUC international trade union rights framework
has clearly been overlooked by the court.

Anti-union discrimination and violation of a collective agreement30-09-2012

Port managers in Liepāja dismissed 10 members of the Liepāja Port Staff Professional Organisation accusing them of theft after failed attempts to breach the union’s collective agreement by trying to force them to accept different wage levels. However, under Latvian labour law, a trade union member cannot be dismissed without prior approval from the union. By September 2012, the court had rejected seven applications from the employer to dismiss the workers and deemed one suspension illegal.

Collective bargaining hampered31-12-2010

The law “On the Remuneration of State and Local Government Institutions Officials and Employees” has created problems for collective bargaining collective bargaining The process of negotiating mutually acceptable terms and conditions of employment as well as regulating industrial relations between one or more workers’ representatives, trade unions, or trade union centres on the one hand and an employer, a group of employers or one or more employers’ organisations on the other.

See collective bargaining agreement
agents in the public sector, since it outlaws all monetary benefits under collective agreements unless they are directly provided by law. Some public employers also refuse to bargain collectively.

Harsh economic climate results in non-reporting of anti-union activities31-12-2010

Unofficially, there have been many reported cases on employers spreading anti-union propaganda and cases of dismissal and demotion or relocation of activists who plan to establish a trade union in an enterprise or of existing trade union representatives in order to break trade union activity. However, these cases have no official evidence and the dismissal or relocation of workers is always supported by contrasting evidence demonstrating the guilt of the employees. In the current economic climate with high unemployment, employees often opt to be silent in order not to lose their jobs. These cases are mostly reported in the trade union branches in the wood manufacturing, civil aviation and industry sectors.

Multinationals shun collective agreements30-11-2009

According to estimations by the Latvian Trade Union Confederation (LBAS), there are fewer collective bargaining collective bargaining The process of negotiating mutually acceptable terms and conditions of employment as well as regulating industrial relations between one or more workers’ representatives, trade unions, or trade union centres on the one hand and an employer, a group of employers or one or more employers’ organisations on the other.

See collective bargaining agreement
agreements in multinationals than in other companies in the private sector. Foreign companies in general and multinationals in particular are reluctant to apply collective agreements to their Latvian branches. Commerce, banking and personal services are the most difficult sectors. On the other hand, LBAS reports that if a multinational does conclude an agreement, compliance is better than in other companies.

© ITUC-CSI-IGB 2013 | www.ituc-csi.org | Contact Design by Pixeleyes.be - maps: jVectorMap