Über den Internationalen Gewerkschaftsbund

Kontakt

Internationaler Gewerkschaftsbund
Abteilung Menschen- und Gewerkschaftsrechte
5 Boulevard du Roi Albert II, Bte 1
1210 Brüssel, Belgien

E-Mail: turights@ituc-csi.org
Tel. (Durchwahl): 00 32 2 2240 304

Der Internationale Gewerkschaftsbund (lGB) ist ein Dachverband nationaler Gewerkschaftsbünde. Er wurde am 1. November 2006 als Zusammenschluss der bisherigen Mitgliedsorganisationen des Internationalen Bundes Freier Gewerkschaften (IBFG) und des Weltverbandes der Arbeitnehmer (WVA) sowie von zahlreichen Gewerkschaftsorganisationen, die damals keinem internationalen Verband angeschlossen waren, gegründet. Der IBFG und der WVA haben sich 2006 aufgelöst und somit den Weg für die Gründung des IGB frei gemacht.

Der neue Dachverband hat 308 Mitgliedsorganisationen in 153 Ländern und Hoheitsgebieten auf allen fünf Kontinenten mit insgesamt 175 Millionen Mitgliedern, davon 40 Prozent Frauen. Der IGB hat drei Regionalorganisationen ‒ die Regionalorganisation für Asien/Pazifik (IGB-AP), die Regionalorganisation für Afrika (IGB-AF) und die Regionalorganisation für Gesamtamerika (IGB-TUCA) ‒ sowie einen Pan-Europäischen Regionalrat (PERR). Der IGB ist außerdem, ebenso wie der Gewerkschaftliche Beratungsausschuss bei der OECD (TUAC) und die Globalen Gewerkschaftsföderationen (GUFs - die internationalen Dachverbände der nationalen Branchengewerkschaften), einer der „Global-Unions“-Partner. Der IGB hat Verbindungsbüros in verschiedenen Ländern weltweit, und er hat generellen Beraterstatus beim Wirtschafts- und Sozialrat der Vereinten Nationen.

Gemeinsam mit seinen Mitgliedsorganisationen, seinen Regionalorganisationen, den Globalen Gewerkschaftsföderationen und nichtstaatlichen Organisationen setzt sich der IGB für die vielfältigen Anliegen der Menschen bei der Arbeit ein. Er organisiert Kampagnen für die universelle Achtung der Gewerkschaftsrechte, wie in den Übereinkommen der Internationalen Arbeitsorganisation (IAO Internationale Arbeitsorganisation Eine dreigliedrige Organisation der Vereinten Nationen (UN), die 1919 ins Leben gerufen wurde, um die Arbeits- und Lebensbedingungen zu fördern. Sie ist die für die Formulierung und Überwachung internationaler Arbeitsnormenwichtigste internationale Organisation.

vgl. Dreigliedrigkeit, IGB-Leitfaden für internationale Gewerkschaftsrechte
) verankert. Der IGB verteidigt Gewerkschafterinnen und Gewerkschafter, wenn ihre grundlegenden Menschenrechte aufgrund ihrer Gewerkschaftsarbeit verletzt werden. Er wehrt sich aber auch gegen andere Arbeitnehmerrechtsverletzungen und sonstige Verletzungen der Menschenrechte, vor allem wenn Arbeitnehmerinnen und Arbeitnehmer davon betroffen sind.

Contact us

In case you wish to give us your comments or report a violation, please send us an email using our contact information above or the following form:

© ITUC-CSI-IGB 2013 | www.ituc-csi.org | Contact Design by Pixeleyes.be - maps: jVectorMap

About the International Trade Union Confederation

Contact information

International Trade Union Confederation
Human and trade union rights department
Boulevard du Roi Albert II, 5, Bte 1
1210 Brussels, Belgium

Email: turights@ituc-csi.org
Tel (direct): 00 32 2 2240 304

The International Trade Union Confederation (ITUC) is a confederation of national trade union centres, each of which links the trade unions of that particular country. It was established on 1 November 2006, bringing together the organisations which were formerly affiliated to the International Confederation of Free Trade Unions (ICFTU) and the World Confederation of Labour (WCL) as well as many national trade union centres which had no international affiliation at the time. The ICFTU and the WCL were dissolved in 2006 to pave way for the creation of the ITUC.

The new Confederation has 308 affiliated organisations in 153 countries and territories on all five continents, with a membership of 175 million, 40 per cent of whom are women. It has three regional organisations: the Asia-Pacific Regional Organisation (ITUC-AP), the African Regional Organisation (ITUC-Africa) and the American Regional Organisation (TUCA) as well as the Pan-European Regional Council (PERC). The ITUC is also a partner in “Global Unions” together with the Trade Union Advisory Committee to the 0ECD (TUAC) and the Global Union Federations (GUFs), which link together national unions from a particular trade or industry at the international level. The ITUC has specialised bureaux in countries around the world, and has General Consultative Status with the Economic and Social Council of the United Nations.

Together with its affiliates, its regional organisations, the GUFs, as well as with non-governmental organisations, the ITUC’s activities cover the whole spectrum of issues of concerns to people at work. It carries out on-going campaign action for the universal respect of trade union rights, as guaranteed by the Conventions of the International Labour Organisation (ILO International Labour Organization A tripartite United Nations (UN) agency established in 1919 to promote working and living conditions. The main international body charged with developing and overseeing international labour standards.

See tripartism, ITUC Guide to international trade union rights
). The ITUC defends trade unionists whenever their fundamental human rights are violated as a result of their trade union activities. It also takes action against other labour rights violations as well as violations of human rights, especially where these affect working people.

Contact us

In case you wish to give us your comments or report a violation, please send us an email using our contact information above or the following form:

© ITUC-CSI-IGB 2013 | www.ituc-csi.org | Contact Design by Pixeleyes.be - maps: jVectorMap