This country has not been yet rated
Der Globale Rechtsindex des IGB

Malediven

Der IGB hat auf den Malediven keine Mitgliedsorganisation.

Praxis

Browse by:

Rechtsverletzungen in Luxushotelanlage Reethi Rah Malediven09-02-2015

Die Beschäftigten und ihre Gewerkschaft bei der Kerzner International Holdings gehörenden Luxusanlage One&Only Reethi Rah auf den Malediven kämpfen bereits seit sechs Jahren gegen die gewerkschaftsfeindlichen Taktiken und die Weigerung der Geschäftsleitung, die Gerichtsbeschlüsse zugunsten der Gewerkschaft in Kraft zu setzen.

Angesichts missbräuchlicher Arbeitsbedingungen, niedriger Löhne, Korruption aufseiten des Managements, willkürlicher Versetzungen und der Weigerung der Geschäftsleitung, das neue Arbeitsgesetz in Kraft zu setzen, waren die Beschäftigten der Hotelanlage im Jahr 2008 der Vereinigung der Beschäftigen in der Tourismusbranche der Malediven (TEAM) beigetreten und hatten versucht, diese Themen bei der Geschäftsleitung anzusprechen. Letztere lehnte jedoch jegliche Diskussionen ab und begann damit, Gewerkschaftsmitglieder zu mobben und einzuschüchtern. Zutiefst frustriert, legten die Gewerkschaftsmitglieder daraufhin am 28. November 2008 aus Protest die Arbeit nieder. Am dritten Protesttag lehnte die Hotelleitung Verhandlungen mit den Beschäftigten weiterhin ab und schaltete die Polizei ein, die gegen den friedlichen Arbeitnehmerprotest mit Schlagstöcken und Pfefferspray gewaltsam vorging und willkürlich 13 führende Vertreter und Mitglieder der Gewerkschaft festnahm und von der Insel entfernte.

Die Hotelleitung entließ anschließend die 13 Gewerkschaftsmitglieder, einschließlich des Gewerkschaftsvorsitzenden, und versuchte, die Gewerkschaft zu verbieten. Im Juni 2009 befand das Arbeitsgericht der Malediven die Entlassungen für ungerechtfertigt und rechtswidrig und ordnete ihre Wiedereinstellung und die Nachzahlung aller ausstehenden Löhne an. Die Geschäftsleitung lehnte dies ab und erhob Einspruch gegen den Entscheid. Der Einspruch wurde abgewiesen, und im September 2011 wurde erneut ihre Wiedereinstellung angeordnet, was die Hotelleitung jedoch wieder ignorierte. Im September 2012 teilte das Gericht der Geschäftsführung mit, dass das Versäumnis, der Anordnung nachzukommen, die Beschlagnahme von Vermögenswerten zur Folge haben könnte.

Die ausstehenden Löhne wurden schließlich 2013 auf richterliche Anweisung hin gezahlt, aber die Wiedereinstellung der Entlassenen wurde erneut abgelehnt. Im Januar 2014 legten wieder Hunderte Beschäftigte die Arbeit nieder, um ihren Forderungen und Beschwerden im Zusammenhang mit den Löhnen, Diskriminierung, der Unterbringung und anderen Missständen, die 2008 zur Gründung der Gewerkschaft geführt hatten, Nachdruck zu verleihen. Die Geschäftsleitung lehnte es erneut ab, auf die Arbeitnehmerforderungen einzugehen und schaltete wie damals die Polizei ein, um den Protest zu beenden.

Im April 2014 haben 302 Beschäftigte von Reethi Rah eine Petition an die Geschäftsführung unterschrieben, mit der sie die Wiedereinstellung der entlassenen Gewerkschaftsmitglieder fordern.

Ungerechtfertigte Entlassung eines führenden Gewerkschaftsvertreters31-03-2013

Der Generalsekretär der Vereinigung der Beschäftigten in der Tourismusbranche der Malediven wurde am 13. April 2009 im Zusammenhang mit strafrechtlichen Vorwürfen von One and Only Reethi Rah entlassen. Mauroof Zakir hatte 2008 einen Streik Streik Die gängigste Form einer Arbeitskampfmaßnahme; eine kollektive Arbeitsniederlegung der Beschäftigten für eine bestimmte Zeit; kann vielfältige Formen annehmen.

vgl. Generalstreik, unterbrochener Streik, rollierender Streik, Sitzstreik, Sympathiestreik, wilder Streik, Bummelstreik
in der Ferienanlage organisiert, um die Inkraftsetzung grundlegender Arbeitnehmerrechte zu fordern. Das Zivilgericht entschied, dass seine Entlassung ungerechtfertigt gewesen sei und wies seinen Arbeitgeber an, ihn wieder einzustellen und ihm seine ausstehenden Bezüge auszuzahlen. Im März 2013 verhängte das Gericht wegen Missachtung seiner Anweisung eine Geldstrafe gegen One and Only Reethi Rah.

Eingriff in Streik28-02-2013
Gewerkschaftsfeindliche Diskriminierung 31-07-2013

Die Hafengesellschaft Maldives Ports Limited hat im Jahr 2012 sechs Mitglieder und drei führende Vertreter, einschließlich des Vorsitzenden Ibrahim Khaleel, der Hafenarbeitergewerkschaft Maldives Port Workers Union (MPWU) entlassen und 49 ihrer Mitglieder suspendiert. Weitere Gewerkschaftsmitglieder wurden in andere Häfen auf unterschiedlichen Inseln versetzt. Es wird auf Einschüchterungstaktiken wie Schikanen und Drohungen zurückgegriffen, um die Beschäftigten von einem Gewerkschaftsbeitritt oder von Gewerkschaftsaktivitäten abzuhalten.

Nur wenige Migranten wagen es, Arbeitnehmervereinigungen beizutreten31-12-2011

Da das Gesetz und dessen Inkraftsetzung keinen ausreichenden Schutz vor gewerkschaftsfeindlicher Diskriminierung bieten, schrecken viele Arbeitnehmer/innen davor zurück, den vorhandenen Vereinigungen beizutreten, besonders im Falle von Wanderarbeitskräften, die rund ein Viertel der Bevölkerung ausmachen und von denen viele Ausbeutung zum Opfer fallen. Die Behörden haben mehrere Schleppernetzwerke identifiziert, die Arbeitsmigranten auf die Malediven schleusen, insbesondere aus Bangladesch.

Unklare Rolle der Gewerkschaften31-12-2011

Obwohl grundlegende Gewerkschaftsrechte zum Teil gesetzlich anerkannt sind, gibt es keine Verfahren, die deren Wahrnehmung sichern. Es fehlt beispielsweise an einem klaren Verfahren für die Anmeldung von Gewerkschaften, die sich daher als „Vereinigungen“ registrieren lassen. Arbeitnehmervereinigungen wurden vor allem in der Tourismusbranche und im Bildungswesen ins Leben gerufen, aber aufgrund der Ungewissheit bezüglich ihres Mandates und ihrer Rechtsstellung sowie angesichts des Fehlens gesetzlicher Bestimmungen zur Definition ihrer Rolle sowie von Verfahren für Verhandlungen mit den Arbeitgebern sind sie nur begrenzt imstande, ihre Mitglieder zu vertreten.

Keine Anerkennung der Gewerkschaft TEAM, Verdacht einer Schwarzen Liste31-12-2010

Die Arbeitgeber weigern sich systematisch, die Gewerkschaft TEAM (Vereinigung der Angestellten im Tourismusgewerbe der Malediven) anzuerkennen oder mit ihren Mitgliedern zu verhandeln. Die Arbeitgeber stehen in starkem Verdacht, eine Schwarze Liste Schwarze Liste Eine von Arbeitgebern zusammengestellte und unter ihnen zirkulierte Liste von Gewerkschaftsmitgliedern und aktiven Gewerkschafter(inne)n, die als Arbeitskräfte boykottiert oder auf andere Weise bestraft werden sollten. zu führen, in der die Namen aktiver Gewerkschaftsmitglieder aufgeführt sind, damit diese keine Beschäftigung finden.

Schwarze Listen und falsche Anschuldigungen 30-11-2009

Laut Aussage der Vereinigung der Touristikmitarbeiter der Malediven, TEAM, werden Arbeitnehmer in den großen Luxushotels, die ihre Rechte durchzusetzen versuchen, unrechtmäßig gekündigt und auf schwarze Listen gesetzt. Angeblich erhalten Arbeitgeber Unterstützung von einigen Polizeiabteilungen, wenn sie gegen diese Arbeitnehmer falsche Anschuldigungen erheben, beispielsweise wegen Drogenkonsums. TEAM berichtet, dass in einigen Fällen, in denen Arbeitnehmer nach einer Befragung zum Drogenkonsum Urinproben abgeben mussten, ihnen das positive Ergebnis nur mündlich mitgeteilt wurde, also ohne jeglichen schriftlichen Beleg. Ein positiver Test bedeutet jedoch die Kündigung eines Arbeitnehmers und das Ende seiner beruflichen Laufbahn. Nach Aussage von TEAM kontrollieren der äußerst einflussreiche Luxushotelsektor und die Regierung die Medien und verbreiten dort ein schlechtes Bild von der Gewerkschaftsbewegung.

Keine Tarifverhandlungen 30-11-2008

Laut einem Bericht der Menschenrechtskommission der Malediven wurden Aktionen der Lehrervereinigung der Malediven (TAM, Teachers’ Association of the Maldives), der Vereinigung der Touristikmitarbeiter der Malediven (TEAM, Tourism Employees Association of Maldives) sowie eine Fischervereinigung, die zu den aktivsten Verfechtern der Arbeitnehmerrechte in ihrem jeweiligen Bereich zählen, durch die Unsicherheit behindert, die mit ihrem Status, ihrem Mandat und ganz allgemein mit dem Fehlen von Gesetzen zusammenhängen, die ihre Rolle, ihre Funktion und die Verfahren für Verhandlungen mit den Arbeitgebern festlegen. Da es keine richtigen Gewerkschaften gibt, ist das Prinzip der Tarifverhandlung auf den Malediven nach wie vor unbekannt.

Vereinigungen und einige Streiks, aber immer noch keine Gewerkschaften30-11-2008

Auf den Malediven wurden Arbeitnehmerorganisationen gegründet, insbesondere im Tourismus- und im Bildungswesen, aber man kann immer noch nicht von richtigen Gewerkschaften sprechen, sondern es handelt sich eher um Vereinigungen. Im Tourismussektor gab es einige Streikbewegungen.

© ITUC-CSI-IGB 2013 | www.ituc-csi.org | Contact Design by Pixeleyes.be - maps: jVectorMap

This country has not been yet rated
The ITUC Global Rights Index

Maldives

The ITUC does not have affiliates in the Maldives.

In practice

Browse by:

Rights violations take the gloss off Maldives luxury Reethi Rah Resort09-02-2015

For six years, workers and their union at Kerzner International Holdings’ luxury One&Only Reethi Rah Resort in the Maldives have been fighting union-busting and the resort management’s ongoing refusal to implement court decisions in favour of the union.

Faced with abusive working conditions, low wages, management corruption, arbitrary transfers and management’s failure to implement the new Employment Act, workers at the resort joined the Tourism Employees Association of the Maldives (TEAM) in 2008 and attempted to raise these issues with management. Management refused to engage in any discussions and began harassing and intimidating union members. Deeply frustrated, union members stopped work in protest on 28 November 2008. On the third day of the protest, management still refused to address workers’ concerns and called the police to the resort island. The police attacked the peaceful workers protest with force, batons and pepper spray and then arrested 13 union leaders and members at random and removed them from the island.

Management then terminated these 13 members, including the union president, and tried to disband the union. In June 2009, the Employment Tribunal of the Maldives declared the terminations unjustified and illegal and ordered the workers reinstated with full back pay back pay Wages or benefits due an employee for past employment. Often awarded when the employee has been unfairly dismissed. Not to be confused with retroactive pay (delayed payment for work previously done at a lower wage rate). . Management refused and appealed the decision. The company lost its appeal and the reinstatement order was re-issued in September 2011. The resort management ignored this again. In September 2012, the court informed the company that failure to comply could result in seizure of assets.

In 2013 wage arrears were finally paid under instructions of the court, but the management again refused reinstatement. In January 2014, hundreds of workers again walked off the job in support of demands over wages, discrimination, accommodation and other abuses – the same abuses which led to the union’s formation in 2008. Management again refused to address the workers’ demands and again called in police to halt the protest.

In April 2014, 302 Reethi Rah workers signed a petition to management demanding reinstatement of the dismissed union members.

Unjust dismissal of trade union leader31-03-2013

The General Secretary of the Tourism Employees Association of Maldives was dismissed by the company One and Only Reethi Rah on 13 April 2009 on the basis of alleged criminal charges. Mauroof Zakir led a strike strike The most common form of industrial action, a strike is a concerted stoppage of work by employees for a limited period of time. Can assume a wide variety of forms.

See general strike, intermittent strike, rotating strike, sit-down strike, sympathy strike, wildcat strike
in 2008 at the resort demanding the implementation of fundamental labour rights. The civil court ruled that the dismissal was unjustified and ordered the company to reinstate him and to pay the wage arrears. In March 2013, the One and Only Reethi Rah was fined by the court for not complying with the court order.

Interference in strike action28-02-2013
Anti-union discrimination against Maldives Port Workers Union31-07-2013

Maldives Ports Limited dismissed 6 members and 3 union leaders, including President Ibrahim Khaleel, and suspended 49 members of the Maldives Port Workers Union (MPWU) in 2012. Other union members were reassigned to other ports on different islands. Intimidation tactics such as harassment and threats are used to prevent workers from joining unions or engaging in union activities.

Few migrant workers dare join workers’ associations31-12-2011

The law and its implementation do not provide enough protection against anti-union discrimination anti-union discrimination Any practice that disadvantages a worker or a group of workers on grounds of their past, current or prospective trade union membership, their legitimate trade union activities, or their use of trade union services. Can constitute dismissal, transfer, demotion, harassment and the like.

See Guide to the ITUC international trade union rights framework

, making many workers hesitant to join existing associations. This particularly affects migrant workers who make up about a quarter of the population, and many of whom suffer exploitation. Several networks trafficking migrant workers to the Maldives have been identified by the authorities, Bangladesh being a prominent source.

Trade unions confined to uncertain role31-12-2011

Although the legislation partially recognises fundamental trade union rights, there are no mechanisms in place to facilitate the exercise of those rights. There are no clear procedures for example on how to register trade unions, which therefore register themselves as “associations”. Workers associations have been set up, notably, in the tourist industry and education, but their ability to defend their members is limited by the uncertainties surrounding their mandate and their status, as well as the absence of laws defining their role and the procedures for negotiating with employers.

Failure to recognise the TEAM trade union and suspicions of a black list31-12-2010

Employers systematically refuse to recognise the union TEAM (Tourism Employees Association of the Maldives) or to negotiate with its members. The employers are strongly suspected of compiling a black list black list A list of workers compiled by and circulated among employers identifying union members and activists who are to be boycotted or otherwise penalised. of active members of trade unions in order to prevent them from finding a job.

Black lists and false charges 30-11-2009

According to the Tourism Employees Association of the Maldives (TEAM), workers in the big luxury hotels who try to ensure the respect of their rights are the target of unfair dismissals and are black-listed. They say that employers even have the support of some police departments in bringing false charges against the workers, such as the consumption of illegal drugs. TEAM reports that when workers have to provide urine samples further to an investigation into drug consumption, in some cases positive results are announced orally, without any formal proof. A positive test means dismissal and the end of the worker’s career. Furthermore say TEAM, the all-powerful luxury hotel industry and the government control the media, who paint a negative picture of trade unionism.

No collective bargaining30-11-2008

According to a report by the Human Rights Commission of the Maldives, the actions of the Teachers Association of the Maldives (TAM), the Tourism Employees Association of the Maldives (TEAM) and a fishermen’s association, among the most active in defending employees’ rights in their respective sectors, are hampered by the uncertainties surrounding their status, mandate and in general the lack of laws defining their role, function and the procedures by which they may negotiate with employers. In the absence of a real trade union, the concept of collective bargaining collective bargaining The process of negotiating mutually acceptable terms and conditions of employment as well as regulating industrial relations between one or more workers’ representatives, trade unions, or trade union centres on the one hand and an employer, a group of employers or one or more employers’ organisations on the other.

See collective bargaining agreement
remains unknown in the Maldives.

Workers’ associations, a few strikes, but still no unions 30-11-2008

Some workers’ organisations have been established, particularly in the tourism and education sectors, though these are associations rather than real unions. Some strikes have taken place in the tourism industry.

© ITUC-CSI-IGB 2013 | www.ituc-csi.org | Contact Design by Pixeleyes.be - maps: jVectorMap