2 – Wiederholte Rechtsverletzungen
Der Globale Rechtsindex des IGB

Mosambik

Die Mitgliedsorganisation des IGB in Mosambik ist die Organizaçâo dos Trabalhadores de Moçambique (OTM).

Praxis

Browse by:

Beschäftigte in der öffentlichen Verwaltung dürfen Gewerkschaften beitreten, aber nicht streiken 30-04-2014

Am 30. April 2014 hat das mosambikanische Parlament einen Gesetzentwurf der Regierung verabschiedet, der den Beschäftigten in der öffentlichen Verwaltung Gewerkschaftsrechte zugesteht. Ausgenommen davon sind diejenigen in der Verteidigung und in Sicherheitsdienten, Gefängnispersonal, die Feuerwehr, Richter und Staatsanwälte, die Steuerverwaltung und die Beschäftigten des Präsidialamtes. Auf das Streikrecht geht der Gesetzentwurf nicht ein, da dies nach Ansicht der Regierung ein separates Thema sei. Renamo, die zu einer politischen Partei gewordene frühere Rebellenbewegung, hatte versucht, einen nahezu identischen Gesetzentwurf einzubringen, der das Streikrecht beinhaltete, da Gewerkschaften ohne Streikrecht bedeutungslos seien, aber der Entwurf wurde abgelehnt.

Bergwerk verweigert Lohnverhandlungen01-01-2015

Rund 250 mosambikanische Beschäftigte des Kohlebergwerks „Chirodzi“ legten im Januar 2015 wegen Lohndiskriminierung die Arbeit nieder, nachdem ihr Arbeitgeber Verhandlungen verweigert hatte. Die Beschäftigten des Bergwerkes, das von dem indischen Unternehmen „Jindal Mozambique Minerals“ betrieben wird, hatten sich darüber beschwert, dass indische Kipplasterfahrer mehr als 35.000 Metical pro Monat erhielten und mosambikanische Fahrer für dieselbe Arbeit nur 7.500 Metical pro Monat. Als die Streikenden mit der Geschäftsführung über diese Diskriminierung verhandeln wollten, wurde ihnen gesagt, dass es ihnen freistehe, zu gehen, wenn ihnen ihr Lohn nicht passe, da es in Mosambik nicht an Arbeitskräften mangele.

Vorsitzender der Associação Médica de Moçambique verhaftet26-05-2013

Im Mai 2013 legten Beschäftigte des Gesundheitswesens zehn Tage lang die Arbeit nieder, um Lohnerhöhungen, eine Standardisierung und die Anpassung der Preise auf der Unfallstation zu fordern. Am 26. Mai 2013 wurde der Vorsitzende der Medizinervereinigung Associação Médica de Moçambique, Dr. Jorge Arroz, von der Polizei verhaftet und wegen der Initiierung des Streiks der Aufwiegelung beschuldigt. Er wurde einige Stunden später wieder freigelassen.

Gewerkschaftsfeindliche Diskriminierung24-04-2013

Angaben der Organizaçâo dos Trabalhadores de Moçambique (OTM) vom 24. April 2012 zufolge seien im Vorjahr mindestens 30 Gewerkschaftsmitglieder von ihren Betrieben entlassen worden, weil sie ihre legitimen Arbeitnehmerrechte verteidigt hätten. Alle waren Mitglieder bzw. führende Vertreter der Ortsverbände Maputo der Lebensmittel- und Hotelarbeitergewerkschaft oder der Gewerkschaft der Beschäftigten im Handel.

Zeit- und Leiharbeitskräfte sind sich ihrer Gewerkschaftsrechte nicht bewusst31-12-2011

Die Zahl der Zeit- und Leiharbeitskräfte hat sich seit den Arbeitsgesetzänderungen im Jahr 2007 erhöht, da es dadurch leichter wurde, Beschäftigte mit Kurzzeitverträgen einzustellen. Als die mosambikanische Chemiearbeitergewerkschaft im September 2010 einen Betrieb in Maputo besuchte, stellte sie fest, dass nahezu die Hälfte der 1.700 Beschäftigten Zeitarbeitskräfte waren, während ein anderer Betrieb ausschließlich mit Leiharbeitskräften arbeitete.

Obwohl alle Beschäftigten über dieselben gesetzlich verankerten Rechte verfügen, lassen die Unternehmen Zeit- und Leiharbeitskräfte gerne über ihre Rechte im Unklaren und schicken Gewerkschaftsvertreter weg. Da sich diese Beschäftigten ihrer Rechte nicht bewusst sind, sind sie leichter auszubeuten, erhalten keine Lohnerhöhungen, die Arbeitgeber überweisen keine Sozialversicherungsbeiträge und setzen sich über Schutzmaßnahmen hinweg.

In einem Fall hatte ein Leiharbeiter einen Unfall in einer Chemiefabrik, als der Sack, den er trug, riss und die chemischen Stoffe seine Haut verbrannten. Sowohl das Unternehmen als auch die Leiharbeitsfirma weigerten sich, für seine Behandlung aufzukommen und wiesen jede Verantwortung von sich. Der Beschäftigte erlag letztendlich seinen Verletzungen. Die Gewerkschaften bemühen sich darum, Zeit- und Leiharbeitskräfte mithilfe eines ICEM-Projektes zu unterstützen und zu organisieren.

Diskriminierung in den FEZ31-12-2011
Arbeitgeber: kollektiv gute Absichten, individuell Missachtung von Rechten 31-12-2011

Auch wenn die Organização dos trabalhadores moçambicanos – Central Sindical (OTM-CS) die Beziehungen zu den Sozialpartnern auf nationaler Ebene als gut betrachtet, hat sie unter Verweis auf die bislang mangelnde Transparenz darum gebeten, stärker in die Gehaltsreform im öffentlichen Dienst eingebunden zu werden. Auf betrieblicher Ebene liegen die Dinge nicht so gut, da sich die Gewerkschaften nicht weiterentwickeln konnten. Die Arbeitgeber machen weiterhin keinen Hehl aus ihrer Feindseligkeit gegenüber Arbeitnehmervertretern, und gewerkschaftsfeindliche Diskriminierung Gewerkschaftsfeindliche diskriminierung Jede Praxis, die eine/n Beschäftigte/n oder eine Gruppe von Beschäftigten aufgrund einer früheren, gegenwärtigen oder zukünftigen Gewerkschaftsmitgliedschaft, legitimer Gewerkschaftsaktivitäten oder der Inanspruchnahme von Gewerkschaftsdiensten benachteiligt; beinhaltet Entlassungen, Versetzungen, Degradierungen, Belästigungen und Ähnliches

vgl. IGB-Leitfaden für internationale Gewerkschaftsrechte
bleibt ein Problem, weil das Arbeitsgesetz von 2007 keine hinreichend abschreckenden Strafen enthält. Die gesetzlichen Auflagen für private Zusammenkünfte und Arbeitnehmerversammlungen am Arbeitsplatz sind sehr streng. Tarifverträge sind die Ausnahme und werden ständig verletzt, was zu mehreren Arbeitskämpfen geführt hat. Die Regierung hat es immer wieder versäumt, auf die Bitten der IAO Internationale Arbeitsorganisation Eine dreigliedrige Organisation der Vereinten Nationen (UN), die 1919 ins Leben gerufen wurde, um die Arbeits- und Lebensbedingungen zu fördern. Sie ist die für die Formulierung und Überwachung internationaler Arbeitsnormenwichtigste internationale Organisation.

vgl. Dreigliedrigkeit, IGB-Leitfaden für internationale Gewerkschaftsrechte
um Berichte über die zur Förderung ungehinderter und freiwilliger Tarifverhandlungen ergriffenen Maßnahmen zu reagieren.

© ITUC-CSI-IGB 2013 | www.ituc-csi.org | Contact Design by Pixeleyes.be - maps: jVectorMap

2 – Repeated violations of rights
The ITUC Global Rights Index

Mozambique

The ITUC affiliate in Mozambique is the Organizaçâo dos Trabalhadores de Moçambique (OTM).

In practice

Browse by:

Public administration staff allowed to join unions, but still denied the right to strike30-04-2014

On 30 April 2014 the Mozambican parliament, the Assembly of the Republic, passed a government bill establishing trade union rights for workers in the public administration. Excluded from the bill were the defence and security services, prison workers, the fire brigade, judges and prosecutors, the tax administration, and staff who work in the president’s office. The bill did not include the right to strike strike The most common form of industrial action, a strike is a concerted stoppage of work by employees for a limited period of time. Can assume a wide variety of forms.

See general strike, intermittent strike, rotating strike, sit-down strike, sympathy strike, wildcat strike
, however, as the government argued that it was a separate issue. Renamo, the former rebel movement turned political party, tried to submit an almost identical bill that did enshrine the right to strike strike The most common form of industrial action, a strike is a concerted stoppage of work by employees for a limited period of time. Can assume a wide variety of forms.

See general strike, intermittent strike, rotating strike, sit-down strike, sympathy strike, wildcat strike
, arguing that trade unionism without the right to strike strike The most common form of industrial action, a strike is a concerted stoppage of work by employees for a limited period of time. Can assume a wide variety of forms.

See general strike, intermittent strike, rotating strike, sit-down strike, sympathy strike, wildcat strike
means nothing, but the bill was rejected.

Mine refuses to bargain over pay01-01-2015

About 250 Mozambican workers at the Chirodzi coal mine went on strike strike The most common form of industrial action, a strike is a concerted stoppage of work by employees for a limited period of time. Can assume a wide variety of forms.

See general strike, intermittent strike, rotating strike, sit-down strike, sympathy strike, wildcat strike
in January 2015 over pay discrimination after their employer refused to negotiate. Workers at the mine run by the Indian company Jindal Mozambique Minerals complained that while Indian workers driving dumper trucks received more than 35,000 meticais a month, Mozambican workers received just 7,500 meticais for doing the same job. The strikers complained that when they attempted to negotiate their wage grievances with the management, they were told that if they were not satisfied with what they earned, they could leave, as there was “no shortage of labour in Mozambique”.

President of Associação Médica de Moçambique arrested26-05-2013

Health workers went on strike strike The most common form of industrial action, a strike is a concerted stoppage of work by employees for a limited period of time. Can assume a wide variety of forms.

See general strike, intermittent strike, rotating strike, sit-down strike, sympathy strike, wildcat strike
for ten days in May 2013 and halted operations in health institutions demanding wage increases, standardisation and the readjustment of emergency room prices. On 26 May 2013, President of the Associação Médica de Moçambique, Dr. Jorge Arroz, was arrested by police and accused of sedition for having instigated strike strike The most common form of industrial action, a strike is a concerted stoppage of work by employees for a limited period of time. Can assume a wide variety of forms.

See general strike, intermittent strike, rotating strike, sit-down strike, sympathy strike, wildcat strike
action. He was released a few hours later.

Anti-union discrimination24-04-2013

On 24 April 2012, the Organizaçâo dos Trabalhadores de Moçambique (OTM) stated that at least 30 trade union members had been sacked from their companies during the previous year because they had defended their legitimate workers’ rights. They were all members and leaders of the Maputo branches of the Food and Hotel Workers’ Union, or the Commercial Workers’ Union.

Contract and agency workers kept ignorant of their trade union rights31-12-2011

The number of contract and agency workers in Mozambique has increased since changes to the labour law in 2007, making it easier to hire workers on short term contracts. When the Mozambique Chemical and Allied Workers Union visited a factory in Maputo in September 2010, it found that nearly half the 1,700 staff were contract workers, while at another factory all employment came through labour agencies.

Although all workers have the same rights in law, companies like to keep contract and agency labour (CAL) workers ignorant about their rights, and union representatives are sent away. Because the workers do not know their rights they are more open to exploitation. As a result CAL workers do not recieve salary increases, employers neglect to make social security payments and health and safety protection is ignored.

In one case an agency worker in a chemical factory had an accident when the sack he was carrying broke and chemicals burnt his skin. Both the company and the agency refused to pay for his treatment, each denying responsibility. The worker eventually died from his injuries. The unions are working on supporting and organising organising The process of forming or joining a trade union, or inducing other workers to form or join one. CAL workers with the support of an ICEM project.

Discrimination in the EPZs31-12-2011
Employers – good intentions collectively, ignoring rights individually31-12-2011

Although the Mozambican Workers’ Organisation (OTM-CS) considers relations with the social partners social partners Unions and employers or their representative organisations. are good at the national level, it has asked to be involved more closely in Civil Service pay reforms, recalling the lack of transparency that has prevailed. At the enterprise level, performance is not so good as trade unions have not been able to develop. Employers have continued to show their hostility towards workers’ representatives and anti-union discrimination anti-union discrimination Any practice that disadvantages a worker or a group of workers on grounds of their past, current or prospective trade union membership, their legitimate trade union activities, or their use of trade union services. Can constitute dismissal, transfer, demotion, harassment and the like.

See Guide to the ITUC international trade union rights framework

remains a problem as the 2007 Labour Code does not contain sufficiently dissuasive sanctions, while the legal constraints on private gatherings and workers’ meetings at the workplace are very strict. Collective agreements are rare and constantly violated, which has led to several industrial disputes. The government has consistently failed to respond to ILO International Labour Organization A tripartite United Nations (UN) agency established in 1919 to promote working and living conditions. The main international body charged with developing and overseeing international labour standards.

See tripartism, ITUC Guide to international trade union rights
requests to report on any measures taken to promote free and voluntary collective bargaining collective bargaining The process of negotiating mutually acceptable terms and conditions of employment as well as regulating industrial relations between one or more workers’ representatives, trade unions, or trade union centres on the one hand and an employer, a group of employers or one or more employers’ organisations on the other.

See collective bargaining agreement
.

© ITUC-CSI-IGB 2013 | www.ituc-csi.org | Contact Design by Pixeleyes.be - maps: jVectorMap